Urge U.S. Senate to approve $70M NIH funding for lymphedema and lymphatic disease research

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!

United States Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY) has requested “$70 million in lymphatic and lymphedema research funding be appropriated to the Office of the Director at NIH to support extramural interdisciplinary research relevant to the lymphatic system in health and disease.”

This would be an unprecedented achievement in making lymphatics and lymphedema a national heath priority. Its impact on future treatments and cures must not be underestimated. We must fight for this with everything available to us.

The Lymphatic Education & Research Network (LE&RN), its spokesperson Kathy Bates, the research community, and Senator Schumer have brought this issue to the forefront. It is now up to us, as a community, to get this funding in the budget.

The Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health, and Human Services must hear from you. First, sign this petition. Herein, the signers of this petition call upon committee members to add the Report Language of Senator Schumer to the 2017 Committee Appropriations bill.

Second, write directly to the Committee Members to voice your support. Links to their webpages are provided below. Both actions are needed to secure this historic funding.

Be part of the greatest lymphatic disease and lymphedema research initiative in history. Make this just the beginning. This is where it all starts, and it doesn’t happen without you.

William Repicci
Executive Director, LE&RN

Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health, and Human Services members:
Senator Roy Blunt (Chairman, R-MO)
Senator Patty Murray (Ranking Member, D-WA)
Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS)
Senator Richard Shelby (R-AL)
Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
Senator James Lankford (R-OK)
Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Senator John Kennedy (R-LA)
Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)
Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT)
Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV)