Petition Closed

Remove the members of the AAP Task Force on Circumcision from the AAP

This petition had 778 supporters

The surgical removal of healthy tissue from a non-consenting patient with no medical necessity violates both medical ethics and the basic human right to bodily autonomy. All humans, male and female, have the right to choose for themselves if they want to remove parts of their genitals. The genital integrity of a person belongs to themselves, not their parents. Despite these inarguable facts, the AAP has taken a positive stance on infant circumcision for males. The AAP Infant Circumcision Policy has been formally rejected by the Pediatric Associations of Austria, Britain, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, and the Netherlands and by senior pediatricians in Canada, the Czech Republic, France and Poland. It is clear that the AAP's stance is a global outlier, and to be condemned. The members of the Task Force are Susan Blank, Michael Brady, Ellen Buerk, Waldemar Carlo, Douglas Diekema, Andrew Freedman, Lynne Maxwell, and Steven Wegner. These persons should be distanced from the AAP and it should be made publicly clear that their opinions are not representative of pediatricians. These persons have embarrassed our country on the world stage of pediatricians and should be reprimanded for their lack of ethics.

Today: Asa is counting on you

Asa Rubin needs your help with “The American Academy of Pediatrics: Remove the members of the AAP Task Force on Circumcision from the AAP”. Join Asa and 777 supporters today.