Save Stamford’s Youth Services Bureau

Save Stamford’s Youth Services Bureau

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!
At 5,000 signatures, this petition is more likely to get picked up by local news!
Michelle Lappas started this petition to Stamford Residents

Stamford’s Youth Service's Bureau (YSB) needs your help.  Due to COVID the City of Stamford needs to make cuts in its budget. 

Help the Youth Services department continue to serve our community youth at a time when services are needed most.

It is vital to keep programming because once eliminated they are unlikely to return. 

There are 103 Youth Service Bureaus in 146 cities and towns throughout Connecticut. YSB's are codified in State Statute to provide positive youth development.   

Therefore, over 3,000 students will not be able access our programming in:

  1. Restorative Practices to keep children out of the juvenile justice system
  2. Truancy project to reduce # of students who miss school on regular basis 
  3. Mayor's Youth Leadership Council student advocacy councils at 3 SPS high schools
  4. Pathfinders Adventure Camp & year round experiential programming
  5. The Senior Internship Experience & The Mayor's Youth Employment Program providing experiential work experience through unpaid and paid internships
     

Please sign our petition and/or send statements about how important YSB programming is for our city to our Board of Finance  & Board of Representatives. 

Please send directly to the Board of Finance members at:

Chairman - Richard Freedman (D) -  rfreedman@stamfordct.gov  

Email Chairman Freeman NOW

Vice-Chair - Mary Lou Rinaldi (D)  mlrinaldi@stamfordct.gov  - 203-322-9655

Please contact the Stamford Board of Representatives members at:

Monica DiCostanzo - mdicostanzo@stamfordct.gov
Lindsey C. Miller - lmiller1@stamfordct.gov
Mary Fedeli - mfedeli@stamfordct.gov 
Elise Coleman - ecoleman@stamfordct.gov
Anabel Figueroa - afigueroa@stamfordct.gov
JR McMullen - jmcmullen@stamfordct.gov
Eric Morson - emorson@stamfordct.gov
Susan Nabel - snabel@stamfordct.gov
Tom Pendell - tpendell@stamfordct.gov

Link below to access your local representative.

Find Your Board of Representative 

You can register to sign up for Board of Finance webinar meetings on:

Thursday, May 14th
Monday, May 21st

at 7pm by emailing  Cynthia Winterle's email link  .  You can register to attend and speak by 'asking to be heard by the Board' 

Help us fight for youth programming with your stories.  We appreciate it.


Regards,

Terri Drew
Justin LaBaire
Michelle Lappas

Antonia Thompson
Bob Kocienda

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!
At 5,000 signatures, this petition is more likely to get picked up by local news!