Change felony hit-and-run laws in California

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!


Our beloved Jamari Julian Moore was killed August 17, 2017 while riding his bicycle.  It was just two weeks after his 15th birthday.  After hitting Jamari, 19 year old Dexter Laron Glover Jr. fled the scene of the crash leaving him alone on the road to die. His next action instead of calling for help for Jamari, was to call his mother, Latisha Marie Glover, to help him devise a scheme to cover up the crime. Together, the duo reported a false carjacking that delayed Glover's arrest for four long days while our family wondered what happened to our child.  Although Glover admitted using drugs earlier on that fateful day and has a history of drug and alcohol use, he denied being under the influence at the time of the crash and the delay in his arrest made it impossible to prove otherwise.  As a reward for running away, Glover avoided any enhancements he may have faced if it was determined he was DUI when he hit Jamari.  He recently plead guilty to one count of felony hit-and-run and faces a maximum penalty of three years in state prison, but in reality, Glover may walk away with probation for killing a child while driving in excess of 20 miles over the speed limit and failing to render aid or call for help.

California's felony hit-and-run laws are too lenient. They do not match the severity  of the crime and may in fact provide an incentive for drivers to flee the scene of a deadly crash.  Under California's current law, a driver who kills or seriously injures someone and stays at the scene of a crash will face enhanced charges and penalties if they are determined to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI).  In comparison, a driver who runs away to avoid or delay DUI testing will likely avoid these enhancements. Even if a driver is apprehended or surrenders shortly after a hit-and-run it may be difficult, if not impossible, to determine whether or not they were DUI at the time of the crash.  According to Mother's Against Drunk Drivers' website "...hit-and-run crashes are punished less severely than alcohol-related crashes, we have given drunk drivers an incentive to flee the crime to try to escape having a blood alcohol content test done."  Why should a driver be awarded for hitting a person and running away?  It is always the right thing to stay!  

Please join our efforts to change California's lenient felony hit-and-run laws so that other families of hit-and-run victims may receive the justice they deserve. Drivers who fail to stay and render aid and call for help in the case of a crash where a person is killed or seriously injured, should face charges and penalties similar to those who are determined to be DUI at the time they are involved in a crash.  Help us take away the incentive to flee! Taking action to delay arrest or waiting to sober up before you turn yourself in after a crash should have severe consequences. Learn more about our story and our mission at https://www.stophard.org or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/JusticeforJamari/

 



Today: Stop HARD (Hit-and-Run Drivers) is counting on you

Stop HARD (Hit-and-Run Drivers) needs your help with “Help Us Change Lenient Felony Hit-and-Run Laws in California. Take Away the Incentive to Flee!”. Join Stop HARD (Hit-and-Run Drivers) and 386 supporters today.