Confirmed victory

Council Won't Negotiate Direct: Coffs Icon Set To Close In Under 2 Weeks

This petition made change with 2,581 supporters!


Thursday June 2, 2016 will likely see the iconic Coffs Harbour Deep Sea Fishing Club affectionately known as ‘The Fisho’s’ close its doors for good. 

In a final plea, the Club are calling on the Coffs Coast community for their help - to rally forth and contact their local Councillors by email and petition if they don't want to see the Club close within the fortnight. This is the very last chance we all have as a community to save the Fisho's; an icon steeped in local industry and culture.

Under the recommendation being put to Councillors by council staff, the Club will be denied its direct negotiation requests regarding its future, and will result in Council going to a commercial Expression of Interest (EOI) process, possibly as early as this year. If adopted by Council, this recommendation will force the club to close.

The Club has recommended to Council that it exercise its powers and enter into direct negotiations with the Club regarding their future. Instead, Council are acting on advice to find the 'highest and best use of the site' via an open tender process which may see it acquired by international interests and the site become inaccessible to locals. 

Public Council Meeting is Thursday 26th May at Council Chambers. We have until 5pm that day to make an impact. Please sign and share this petition, and take 2 minutes to cut and paste the below section into an email to Council (contact details listed below), and together, lets put community weight behind the Fisho's to live on, and become one of the best and iconic venues on the Coffs Coast. 

Cr Denise Knight - denise.knight@chcc.nsw.gov.au        

Cr John Arkan - john.arkan@chcc.nsw.gov.au

Cr Nan Cowling - nan.cowling@chcc.nsw.gov.au

Cr Rodney Degens - rodney.degens@chcc.nsw.gov.au

Cr Garry Innes - garry.innes@chcc.nsw.gov.au

Cr Keith Rhoades - keith.rhoades@chcc.nsw.gov.au

Cr Mark Sultana - mark.sultana@chcc.nsw.gov.au

Cr Sally Townley - sally.townley@chcc.nsw.gov.au

----- (please cut & paste below as written into an email) -----

TO THE TRUSTEES COFFS HARBOUR STATE PARK TRUST (COFFS HARBOUR CITY COUNCILLORS)

This petition of members of the Coffs Coast Community and people who have an interest in the Coffs Coast Community, draws to the attention of the Trustees to the item on their 26 May 2016 meeting agenda titled COFFS HARBOUR DEEP SEA FISHING CLUB LTD. – UNSOLICITED PROPOSAL AND REQUEST FOR DIRECT NEGOTIATION.

The Coffs Harbour Deep Sea Fishing Club Ltd (the Club) has put a detailed business case and proposal to the Trustees that addresses a number of options in relation to the future of the Club. The Clubs proposal recommends option four which calls for direct negotiation between the Club and the Coffs Harbour State Park Trust (The Trust). The Clubs unsolicited proposal complies with the Coffs Harbour City Council Foreshore Plan of Management (PoM), the NSW State Government legislation, policy and guidelines on direct negotiation. It also meets the ICAC guidelines on direct negotiation. The proposal will see significant investment in Coffs Harbour foreshore in line with the Councils PoM. Direct negotiation will address a ten year extension on the Clubs existing Crown lease on its present foreshore site on a market rent basis that will provide comfort for the Clubs financiers.

However the recommendation before the trustees is contrary to the Clubs proposal, and if adopted will result in the permanent closure of the club.

We, as community members and supporters of the Club, therefore ask the Trustees to reject the recommendation contained in its business paper and instead resolve to adopt option four contained within the Clubs Business Case proposal and requests approval from the Minister for Lands to enter into direct negotiation with the Coffs Harbour Deep Sea Fishing Club Ltd. 



Today: Coffs Harbour Deep Sea Fishing Club is counting on you

Coffs Harbour Deep Sea Fishing Club needs your help with “Council Wont Negotiate Direct: Coffs Icon Set To Close In Under 2 Weeks”. Join Coffs Harbour Deep Sea Fishing Club and 2,580 supporters today.