#OpenTheDebates to Jo Jorgensen & Howie Hawkins! #LetThemDebate!

#OpenTheDebates to Jo Jorgensen & Howie Hawkins! #LetThemDebate!

December 30, 2014
Petition to
Commission on Presidential Debates and 2 others
Signatures: 32,213Next Goal: 35,000
Support now

Why this petition matters

Started by Open The Debates!

The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD), the official-sounding private entity running the televised presidential debates, has been rigging the presidential debate process for 32 years.

While portraying itself as nonpartisan, the Commission was established by the Democrats and Republicans in 1987 to take control of the debates from the League of Women Voters.

While claiming to serve the American electorate, the CPD has willfully ignored the overwhelming will of the American electorate to open the debates to ALL ballot-qualified candidates.

In 2016, in the only major poll to ask US voters who they wanted to see included in the debates, We the People wanted to see the Libertarian Party and Green Party candidates invited to the fall debates, by a count of 76% to 17%.

In 2020, only three candidates will appear on the ballot for all US voters. Only four will appear on enough ballots to win the Electoral College.

In order to have a free and fair election for President of the United States, it is absolutely essential for US voters to hear about ALL of their ballot choices with a mathematical chance to win the election.

Media gatekeepers and an unelected, unaccountable, bipartisan “commission” have no place in determining for voters who is “viable”. In a democracy, that is the job of the voters.

We hereby demand that the Commission on Presidential Debates, “for the benefit of the American electorate,” open the fall debates to Libertarian Party candidates Jo Jorgensen and Spike Cohen, and Green Party candidates Howie Hawkins and Angela Walker.

Anything less is unacceptable domestic interference in our elections.

Support now
Signatures: 32,213Next Goal: 35,000
Support now

Decision Makers

  • Commission on Presidential Debates
  • Barack ObamaHonorary Co-Chair
  • George W. BushHonorary Co-Chair