Enact "Jessica's Law" in Colorado
Colorado is one of six states that has yet to pass Jessica's Law. The unfortunate effect of this is that Colorado has become a magnet site for child sex offenders. In Colorado we do have minimums for child sex crimes, but some are as little as a year, and Jessica's Law enacts a 25 year minimum.
Here is a link to Colorado States' own side by side comparison of current CO state sex offender laws and Jessica's Law: (http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheader=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id&blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=1251605675546&ssbinary=true)
*There are currently 10,096-registered sex offenders in Colorado, as of June 2, 2008.
*Approximately 60% of convicted sex offenders in Colorado are sentenced to community placement (probation, parole, or community corrections) with the remainder being sentenced to incarceration at the Department of Corrections or the county jail (Colorado State Court Administrator’s Office, 2003).
Jessica's Law, also known as the Jessica Lunsford Act, came about when in 2005 Mark Lunsford's daughter, Jessica Lunsford, a 9-year-old girl was kidnapped from her own home at night, raped, and buried alive in Florida. She later died.
The person who committed this horrendous crime was John Couey, a previously convicted sex offender with a long history of such crimes. He was on probation. had a record as a sex offender.
The Jessica Lunsford Act aka. Jessica’s Law:
1.) Increases the penalty for lewd and lascivious molestation of a child to life in prison or a split sentence of a mandatory minimum 25-year prison term, followed by lifetime supervision with electronic monitoring.
2.) Increases, from 20 to 30 years, the period before a sexual predator allowed to petition to have the sexual predator designation removed.
3.) Increases sexual predator/offender registration and reporting requirements.
4.) Allows sexual predators who murder their victims to qualify for the death penalty in capital cases.
5.) Makes failing to re-register as a sexual offender/predator, harboring, or assisting a sexual predator/offender is a third degree felony.
6.) Requires those already convicted of sex crimes to have electronic monitoring (G.P.S.) for the remainder of their probation.
7.) Requires all county misdemeanor probation officials to search the sexual offender registry when a new offender assigned to them.
This website (www.stopchildpredators.org). offers a great deal of information along with a sample letter to send to our legislators.
"This month, Stop Child Predators releases a new national survey that found, not surprisingly, 77% of Americans say child sex offenders should serve 25 years to life in prison and be electronically monitored for life for committing a sexual assault against children who are 13 years of age or younger, according to the Mason-Dixon Polling & Research survey."
Please also feel free to send the sample letter or your own version to our legislators.
Today: Venus is counting on you
Venus Love needs your help with “Colorado Legislators: Enact "Jessica's Law" in Colorado”. Join Venus and 3,060 supporters today.