Keep the Promise to Protect People with Developmental Disabilities

Petition Closed

Keep the Promise to Protect People with Developmental Disabilities

This petition had 1,174 supporters

The Lanterman Coalition started this petition to California State House and

The Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Act is a promise set into law by the state of California to protect the dignity and independence of children and adults with developmental disabilities.

Californians with intellectual and developmental disabilities face an uncertain future after a decade of cuts to community service programs in the state budget.  Fortunately, Senator Jim Beall has written a letter that supports a 10% across-the-board increase for developmental services.  The increase would serve as a stopgap measure to mitigate the current damage long enough for real reform to occur. 

We’re asking California lawmakers to sign the letter and #KeepThePromise to people with developmental disabilities. 

"Waiting is no longer an option. The system is in crisis and we must act now.",   Senator Jim Beall, Jr.

Who has signed on so far (May 13, 2015)

Senate (California has 40 State Senators)

1.       Jim Beall

2.       Carol Liu

3.       Lois Wolk

4.       Cathleen Galgiani

5.       Fran Pavley

6.       Andy Vidak

7.       Jeff Stone

8.       Joel Anderson

9.       Tony Mendoza

10.   Loni Hancock

11.   Jerry Hill

12.   Robert Hertzberg

13.   Marty Block

14.   Patricia Bates

15.   Mike Morrell

16.   Connie Leyva

17.   Bob Huff

18.   Janet Nguyen

19.   Ben Hueso

20.   Isadore Hall

21.   Ben Allen

22.   Mike McGuire

23.   Jean Fuller

24.   Sharon Runner



Assembly (California has 80 total Assembly members)

1.       Kansen Chu

2.       Susan Bonilla

3.       Jim Frazier

4.       Katcho Achadjian

5.       Das Williams

6.       Catharine Baker

7.       Brian Maienschein

8.       Jacqui Irwin

9.       Luis Alejo

10.   Brian Jones

11.   Mark Stone

12.   Matt Dababneh

13.   Shannon Grove

14.   David Hadley

15.   Marie Waldron

16.   Mike Gatto

17.   Rudy Salas

18.   Jim Wood

19.   Bill Dodd

20.   Kevin Mullin

21.   Ken Cooley

22.   Kristin Olsen

23.   Tom Lackey

24.   Scott Wilk

25.   James Gallagher

26.   Cristiana Garcia

27.   Frank Bigelow

28.   Devon Mathis

29.   Anthony Rendon

30.   Marc Levine

31.   Patty Lopez 

32.   Rocky Chavez

33.   Adrin Nazarian

34.   Susan Eggman

35.   Chris Holden

36.   Mike Gipson

37.   Evan Low

38.   Jim Cooper

39.   Jim Patterson

40.   Ian Calderon

41.   Ed Chau

Support letters can be sent to or via fax @ 916.651.4915

Petition Closed

This petition had 1,174 supporters