Repression at universities in Belarus

Petition Closed

Repression at universities in Belarus

This petition had 2,256 supporters

DGO (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Osteuropakunde e.V.) started this petition to Aliaksandr Lukašenka

Deutsche Fassung der Erklärung

Заявление на русском языке

Berlin, 10.9.2020

In Belarus, hundreds of thousands of people have taken to the streets for peaceful demonstrations since the presidential elections on 9 August 2020. They are calling for a rerun of the elections, to which important candidates were not admitted and whose official result clearly does not reflect the actual outcome of the vote. The state authorities are using great violence against the peaceful movement. Thousands of people have been temporarily detained, hundreds brutally beaten in police custody and many dozens sentenced to imprisonment in summary trials. Representatives of the protest movement were kidnapped, deported abroad or forced to leave the country, including the presidential candidate of the united civil society.

Since the beginning of the winter semester on 1 September, the state authorities have also been taking action at the country's universities against students and lecturers who have spoken out in favour of an end to violence and new elections under fair and free conditions. Masked men, some of them without national insignia and uniforms, have entered university buildings to arbitrarily beat up students and university staff. The state puts pressure on the university management to prevent freedom of expression at the universities by threatening sanctions.

Belarusian academics report on repression (video in Russian):

We demand from the still incumbent President of the Republic of Belarus, Aliaksandr Lukašenka, and from those responsible in the government, an immediate end to the violence against all members of the universities and other scientific institutions and the immediate release of all those arrested arbitrarily and without legal basis.

We call on the university and non-university scientific institutions' management and directors to ensure the safety of staff and students and to work for freedom of teaching and research at their institutions.

We declare our solidarity with all students, professors, other academics and researchers and the entire staff of universities and non-university institutions whose freedom and physical integrity is threatened because they are working for a peaceful solution to the conflict in their country.

First signatories:

Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Präsidentin des Wissenschaftszentrums Berlin für Sozialforschung

Prof. Dr. Peter-André Alt, Freie Universität Berlin, Präsident der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz

Prof. Dr. Thomas Bohn, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Sprecher der Belarusisch-Deutschen Geschichtskommission

Prof. Dr. Jakob Edler, Direktor des Fraunhofer-Instituts für System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI), Karlsruhe

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ute Frevert, Geschäftsführende Direktorin des Max-Planck-Instituts für Bildungsforschung, Berlin

Prof. em. Dr. phil. Dr. rer. pol. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Habermas, Starnberg

Prof. Dr. Peter Haslinger, Direktor des Herder-Instituts für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung, Marburg

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Axel Honneth, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. Rahel Jaeggi, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Leiterin des Center for Humanities and Social Change

Prof. Dr. Matthias Kleiner, Präsident der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Jan Kusber, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Vize-Präsident der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Osteuropakunde e.V., Berlin

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Knöbl, Direktor des Hamburger Instituts für Sozialforschung

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Lentz, Direktor des Leibniz-Instituts für Länderkunde, Leipzig, Vize-Präsident der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Prof. Dr. Peter Oliver Loew, Direktor des Deutschen Polen-Instituts, Darmstadt

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Joybrato Mukherjee, Präsident des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes und Präsident der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen

Prof. Dr. Herfried Münkler, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Prof. Dr. Susan Neiman, Direktorin des Einstein Forums, Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Julia Obertreis, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen, Vorsitzende des Verbands der Osteuropahistorikerinnen und -historiker e.V.

Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Osterhammel, Konstanz/Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hermann Parzinger, Präsident der Stiftung Preußischer Kultur Besitz, Berlin

Ruprecht Polenz, Präsident der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Osteuropakunde e.V., Berlin

Prof. em. Dr. Ulrich K. Preuß, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Joachim von Puttkamer, Direktor des Imre Kertész Kollegs, Jena

Prof. Dr. Gwendolyn Sasse, Wissenschaftliche Direktorin des Zentrums für Osteuropa- und internationale Studien, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Susanne Schattenberg, Direktorin der Forschungsstelle Osteuropa an der Universität Bremen

Prof. em. Dr. Karl Schlögel, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Eva Schlotheuber, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Vorsitzende des Verbands der Historiker und Historikerinnen Deutschlands

Prof. Dr. Rita Süssmuth, Präsidentin des Deutschen Bundestags a.D.,

Prof. em. Dr. Dr. mult. Wolf Singer, Gründungsdirektor und Mitglied des Vorstands des Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies, Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. Dirk Uffelmann, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Vorsitzender des Deutschen Slavistenverbandes

Prof. Dr. Michael Zürn, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung

An initiative of the
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Osteuropakunde e.V.
Schaperstraße 30
D-10719 Berlin

For inquiries:
Dr. Gabriele Freitag (Managing Director)
+49 (0)30/214 784 12


Petition Closed

This petition had 2,256 supporters