Stop "Possum Drop" event in North Carolina

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!


Andrews, North Carolina, is planning to host a "Possum Drop" event during New Year's Eve (Dec. 31, 2018), in which they'll use a wild-caught possum. The possum will be escorted by a marching band where it will then be placed into a plexiglass ball and hoisted above a noisy, rowdy crowd and subjected to live music and fireworks displays until it is finally lowered on New Year's Eve.

Possums are naturally very reclusive and afraid of humans. To subject this wild animal to such a loud, rowdy event is unnecessary and cruel. It could likely lead to the possum's death due to the extremely stressful conditions.

This city and business-sponsored event sets a bad example for children and adults alike that it is okay to taunt, agitate, and abuse wildlife.

Please sign this petition to show city leaders and sponsors that animal cruelty is not a proper way to ring in the new year. After signing, please email the following city leaders and sponsors to tell them to STOP THE DROP.

James Reid
Mayor of Andrews, North Carolina
mayor@andrewsnc.com
https://www.facebook.com/james.reid.735

Steve Jordan
Alderman and Mayor Pro Tempore
Town of Andrews, North Carolina
s.jordan@andrewsnc.com

Richelle Phillips
Alderman
Town of Andrews, North Carolina
r.phillips@andrewsnc.com

Mike Sheidy
Alderman
Town of Andrews, North Carolina
m.sheidy@andrewsnc.com

Scott Stalcup
Alderman
Town of Andrews, North Carolina
s.stalcup@andrewsnc.com

Sandra Daley, Chair
Cherokee County Tourism Development Authority (Event Sponsor)
sandra.daley.sd@gmail.com

Mark Kimball, CEO
Erlanger Murphy Medical Center (Event Sponsor)
Mark.Kimball@erlanger.org

Joel Storrow
President
McGill Associates (Event Sponsor)
joel.storrow@mcgillengineers.com