Decision Maker Response

Feb 21, 2014 — Hi everyone, my name is Paul Rockwell, and I head up Trust & Safety at LinkedIn. We know members have requested a blocking feature on LinkedIn. I come to you today to assure you that your concerns were heard loud and clear. We built this feature not only because it was a feature our members requested, but because we also knew it was the right thing to do. I’m pleased to share that we are rolling out a new Member Blocking feature today to all LinkedIn members.

While on the surface this may seem like a simple feature to develop, it was not. There were many different use cases to consider, products and features to integrate, as well as a user interface we had to create.

In addition to Member Blocking, there are also a number of other LinkedIn settings that you may want to consider such as:

• Disconnecting - This provides you with the ability to remove any existing connection to another member in your network.
• Customize Your Public Profile - This provides you with control over the profile content that's discoverable by search engines.
• Activity Broadcasts - This provides you with control whether others can see updates to your profile, recommendations made and companies followed.
• Photo Visibility - This provides you with control over who can see your profile photo.
• Profile Viewing – This alters what others see when you visit their profile.

Before you decide to block another member, we recommend you enable anonymous profile viewing (the last bullet listed above). For an overview of our new Member Blocking feature, which includes a link to the instructions on how to block, visit our Safety Center here:

We remain committed to providing our members with a safe experience, and welcome any feedback you would like to share with us.

Thanks again,