Irish Government: Stop Giving Millions of Euro to Cruel Greyhound Industry

0 have signed. Let’s get to 150,000!


Please sign our petition calling on the Irish Government to stop funding the cruel greyhound racing industry. The Irish Greyhound Board - which has control over track racing and hare coursing - has received a quarter of a billion euros since 2001, including €16.8 million for 2019, while other desperately needy sectors of Irish society are crying out for funding.

This despicable industry is responsible for the premature deaths of huge number of greyhounds, considered no longer fit to race on the track and those who don't make the grade. As revealed in the RTE Investigates programme on 26th June 2019, around 6,000 greyhounds are killed every year because they are not fast enough to win. Secretly filmed footage showed a greyhound being shot in the head and writhing on the ground https://www.facebook.com/banbloodsports/posts/2273110582804487 

The average lifespan of a greyhound is 12-14 years, but Irish racing greyhounds can only expect to live 3-4 years. Also, many greyhounds are sent abroad to destinations that have little or no animal welfare protection legislation (e.g. China and Pakistan), where they are kept in appalling conditions and raced to death.

It is also a corrupt industry with owners and trainers "openly admitting to doping" dogs as revealed on BBC and Channel 4 documentaries, while blooding (using hares, rabbits and small animals to keep the greyhounds keen) is an "open secret" in the industry.

Given the ongoing fall in attendances at tracks, it is clear that the general public has little interest in greyhound racing. The Irish Government must stop wasting precious funds on this dying industry.

An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar
Government Buildings,
Upper Merrion St, Dublin 2
Telephone: +353 (0)1 619 4020
Email: taoiseach@taoiseach.gov.ie, leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie
Leave a comment on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LeoVaradkar
Tweet to: @LeoVaradkar

Paschal Donohoe
Minister for Finance
Email: paschal.donohoe@oireachtas.ie, minister@per.gov.ie
Phone: +353 (0)1 6045810
Leave a comment on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PaschalDonohoe/
Tweet to @Paschald

Michael Creed
Minister for Agriculture
michael.creed@oir.ie

Andrew Doyle TD
Minister of State, Dept of Agriculture
andrew.doyle@oireachtas.ie


Want to share this petition?