Petition Closed
Petitioning DEFRA

DEFRA: Clearer labeling on non-vegetarian alcohol

When food companies use meat products, you can look at the label and see the truth. For alcohol, however, the rules are different.

Many of the world's most popular alcohol brands include derivatives of fish gut and pig or cow bone, so why does't the label tell us?

Strongbow, Carling, John Smiths, Jacques, and Bulmer's cider are all frequently drunk by vegetarians who are unaware that they contain animal-derived products such a gelatine (from pig skin and cow bone marrow) or Isinglass (fish gut gelatine). Whether or not companies decide to use these products is their choice but consumers, vegetarian or not, should be empowered by the label when queuing at the till.

Tell the Department of Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs to end the deceit and change the laws on alcohol labelling so that we know what products are used in the refining process for beer, wine, and cider.

To check if your favourite alcohol is veggie-friendly, visit Veggie Wines.

Thank you for your support,

HonestWine 

Letter to
DEFRA
I just signed the following petition addressed to: DEFRA.

----------------
Stop allowing alcohol companies to leave meat ingredients off their labels

Most food companies play fair. When they use meat products you need only look at the label to see what you are eating. For alcohol, however, the rules are different.
Strongbow, Carling, John Smiths, Jacques, and Bulmer's cider are all frequently drunk by vegetarians, unaware that they contain animal-derived products such a gelatine or Isinglass (fish gut gelatine). Whether or not companies decide to use these products is their choice but consumers, vegetarian or not, should be empowered by the label when queuing at the till. Tell the Department of Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs to end the deceit and change the laws on alcohol labelling so that we know what products are used in the refining process for beer, wine, and cider.
----------------

Sincerely,