Petition Closed

UTSU: Don't fire Vita & Maria

This petition had 861 supporters

The University of Toronto Students’ Union (UTSU) executive and board of directors are attempting to eliminate the positions of the Health and Dental Plan Coordinator and Clubs and Service Groups Coordinator; and the UTSU executive has failed to fill the position of Financial Coordinator after an almost 12-month vacancy.

The Health and Dental Plan Coordinator and the Clubs and Service Groups Coordinator work hard to support the UTSU’s 50,000+ members at UTM and St. George and 350+ student clubs and service groups. The Financial Coordinator ensures the accuracy and confidentiality of all UTSU financial matters.


Whereas the UTSU is seeking to eliminate three full-time, good paying jobs; and
Whereas precarious work is on the rise and 60% of all new jobs in Canada are now precarious: part-time, low-wage, temporary, contract-based, positions; and
Whereas eliminating these positions would be in violation of the UTSU’s collective agreement with the union that represents UTSU staff, CUPE 1281, and expose the UTSU to incurring significant legal costs; and
Whereas the jobs being eliminated are crucial to the success of the UTSU and students rely on the services that those positions provide; therefore

We the undersigned call on the UTSU to follow the collective agreement, maintain these positions and fill all vacancies immediately!

Today: CUPE 1281 is counting on you

CUPE 1281 needs your help with “UTSU: Don't fire Vita & Maria”. Join CUPE 1281 and 860 supporters today.