Petition Closed
Petitioning Tootsie Roll Industries, maker of Junior Mints

Tootsie Roll Industries: Make Junior Mints vegan!


258
Supporters

Junior Mints recently stopped using gelatin; however they have confirmed that their “confectioner’s glaze” is made with shellac, which is obtained from female lac bugs. It takes about 100,000 lac bugs to make 500 grams (1.1 lbs) of dried shellac. Zein, made from corn, is a common alternative to shellac and is Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Please ask Tootsie Roll industries to switch to zein or another vegan form of confectioner’s glaze in Junior Mints!

Letter to
Tootsie Roll Industries, maker of Junior Mints
Thank you for no longer using gelatin in Junior Mints; however I find it disturbing that your “confectioner’s glaze” is made with shellac, which is obtained from female lac bugs.

To be sure that you are aware, it takes about 100,000 lac bugs to make 500 grams (1.1 lbs) of dried shellac. This means that candy making requires a huge amount of insect killing, and by including shellac in ingredients, you are making products that are unacceptable to vegans, as well as anyone who doesn't want bug secretions in their food.

Zein, made from corn, is a common alternative to shellac and is Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. This is both a safe and ethical alternative to shellac, and I urge you to make the switch.

Thank you for dropping the gelatin from Junior Mints ingredients; now please switch to zein or another vegan form of confectioner’s glaze!