Petition Closed

Tell LAUSD to Renew the Charter of Anahuacalmecac Now!

This petition had 1,901 supporters


Founded by Semillas del Pueblo in 2008, Anahuacalmecac is the only successful Indigenous charter high school in Los Angeles. The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) is on the verge of closing Anahuacalmecac due to a “Papers Please” policy against Mexican Indigenous charter school petitioners and parents. Let LAUSD Superintendent and Board Members know our community demands the renewal of the charter of Anahuacalmecac through 2018 and a stop to the violation of civil and Indigenous Peoples' rights to education based upon maternal langauge, community autonomy, autocthonous culture and access to all levels of education.

For more information, please visit www.semillasdelpueblo.org.

 

If you wish not to disclose your home address, you may retype the name of the city in the address section.

After signing the petition, you may also e-mail, call or write your school board members:

District 1: Marguerite.LaMotte@lausd.net * 213-241-6382

District 2: Monica.Garcia@lausd.net * 213-241-6180

District 3: Tamar.Galatzan@lausd.net * 213-241-6386

District 4: Steve.Zimmer@lausd.net * 213-241-6387

District 5: Bennett.Kayser@lausd.net * 213-241-5555

District 6: Nury.Martinez@lausd.net * 213-241-6388

District 7: Richard.Vladovic@lausd.net * 213-241-6385

Superintendant: john.deasy@lausd.net * 213-241-7000


Los Angeles Unified School District

BOARD OF EDUCATION

333 South Beaudry Avenue, 24th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90017

Telephone: 213-241-6389

General Fax Numbers for all Board Members: 213-241-8953 or 213-481-9023



Today: Semillas Del Pueblo is counting on you

Semillas Del Pueblo needs your help with “Tell LAUSD to Renew the Charter of Anahuacalmecac Now!”. Join Semillas Del Pueblo and 1,900 supporters today.