Petition Closed

We Want An Independent Investigation

        While we support the government’s effort to investigate and prosecute the stealing of government and corporate secrets, we are appalled by the apparent pattern of singling out Chinese-Americans, without adequate investigations, by federal law enforcement and prosecutors on the basis of ethnicity in violation of their equal protection rights.  Following are two recent examples.
        Five months after the arrest of Sherry Chen of National Weather Service, the case was dismissed on the eve of her trial without explanation. Similarly, Dr. Xiaoxing Xi, Chair of the Physics Dept. at Temple University, was dragged from home with guns pointed at his wife and children. His case was also dismissed by the court. The government’s evidence was not even related to the technology it claimed to be. Chen and Dr. Xi’s reputation and careers have been damaged and their families have suffered mentally and financially.
        We request the DOJ to conduct an independent investigation into the cases of Sherry Chen, Dr. Xi, and other similar cases regarding whether race, ethnicity, or national origin played an illegal role.

Concerned Scientists, Engineers and Professors                              (initial signers in alphabetical order)
Peter Agre, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, former President of American  Association for the Advancement of Science, Prof. of Johns Hopkins
David Baltimore, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, former President of Cal Tech
Paul Berg, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, National Medal of Science Laureate, Chair, Director Emeritus, Beckman Center at Stanford Univ.  
Gang Chen, Sonderberg Prof. and Dept. Head of Mechanical Engineering MIT, Eringen Medal Society of Engineering Science            Shu Chien, National Medal of Science Laureate, National Academy of Sciences Founder’s Award, University Prof. of Univ. of California
Alfred Y. Cho, National Medal of Science Laureate, National Medal of Technology and Innovation Laureate, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Paul C.W. Chu, National Medal of Science Laureate, National Academy of Sciences, former Pres. HKUST, Chair Prof. at Houston Univ. 
Y.C. Larry Ho, Harvard University G. McKay Prof. and T. J. Coolidge Prof. Emeritus, former President of IEEE Robotics & Automation Society
Chenming Hu, National Medal of Technology and Innovation, National Academy of Engineering, UC Berkeley Distinguished Prof. Emeritus
Evelyn Hu, National Academy of Engineering, AAAS Lifetime Mentor Award, Harvard Univ. Chair Prof.
Alice Huang, former Pres. of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, former Harvard and NYU Prof.                  Thomas Kailath, National Medal of Science, National Academy of Sciences and of Engineering, Stanford Chair Prof. Emeritus        Eric Kandel, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, National Medal of Science Laureate, University Professor at Columbia University      T.P. Ma, National Academy of Engineering, Connecticut Medal of Technology, IEEE A. Grove Award, Chair Prof. at Yale Univ.                 Moo-Ming Poo, National Academy of Sciences, Fellow AAAS, UC Berkeley Distinguished Prof. Emeritus
Thomas P. Russell, National Academy of Engineering, Prof. of U Mass Amherst, Visiting Faculty at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
Richard H. Sander, UCLA Professor of Law specializing in Public Interest Law and Policy
Y. Ron Shen, National Academy of Sciences, DOE Award for Sustained Outstanding Research in Physics, UC Berkeley Prof. Emeritus
Daniel Tsui, Nobel Laureate, National Academies of Science and of Engineering, Emeritus Professor in Electrical Engineering at Princeton  C.C. Wang, former Chair of WHO Integrated Chemotherapy Steering Committee, Fellow of AAAS, UCSF Pharmaceutical Chemistry Prof.
Chi-Yuen Wang, UC Berkeley Professor Emeritus in Earth and Planetary Science
Torsten Wiesel, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, National Medal of Science, President Emeritus of Rockefeller University                Peidong Yang, MacArthur Fellow (“Genius Award”), American Academy of Arts and Sciences, UC Berkeley Distinguished Professor                     Richard Zare, National Academy of Sciences, Wolf Prize in Chemistry, King Faisal Prize, Stanford Chair Prof. in Chemistry                         Xiang Zhang, National Academy of Engineering, Director of Materials Sciences Div. at Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, UC Berkeley Prof.

N.Y. Times editorial,                                               Letter from The U.S. Civil Rights Commission,      Letter from all Delaware US Senators and Congressman,                                                                             Letter from a group of 42 Congresspersons, 

This petition was delivered to:
  • Attorney General of the United States

    Concerned Scientists, Engineers and Professors started this petition with a single signature, and now has 8,188 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.