Petition Closed

2016 - Keep Lincoln Towers Together at PS 199

This petition had 842 supporters


I strongly support the August 2016 position letter of the eight Lincoln Towers Cooperative Corporations detailing the following.

Lincoln Towers is a close-knit community of eight constituent buildings with many shared resources including common community grounds, common shared playgrounds, communally supported staff, common off-hour building management coverage, its own non-profit organization, Project Open, providing Lincoln Towers-wide community services and special events, and a very active Community Association (Lincoln Towers Community Association - LTCA).

Our community dates back to the 1960s and has historic ties to PS199. The school, which adjoins our community property, was established originally to serve the envisioned Lincoln Towers community, as conceived by the 1950s Urban Renewal Plan for Lincoln Square. Our community has provided exceptionally strong volunteer and supplementary financial support to PS199 over its history and, the ongoing support of the entire community, has been a major if not decisive factor in PS199’s high level of success. 

We are very troubled by the most recent PS199 rezoning proposal, which would move 2 of our 8 buildings (165 and 185 West End Avenue) out of the PS199 zone. We are equally concerned that past proposals have divided the Lincoln Towers buildings between different school zones and that in the future there could be yet another proposed division of our community. 

For these reasons, we, the members of the Lincoln Towers community, consider it essential that the Department of Education, through the CEC, recognize and respect the single-community nature of Lincoln Towers and its strong ties to PS199. Furthermore, we encourage the DOE, through the CEC, to reject the current proposals, continue to explore plans which achieve the DOE’s laudable objectives, but in the end, adopt only those plans, now and in the future, which include a PS199 zone containing the entirety of the Lincoln Towers community, with all its eight constituent buildings, together, as the one community unit which it is.

This petition will be delivered to:
Community Education Council for District 3 - CEC3@schools.nyc.gov
Office of District Planning - ODP@schools.nyc.gov
Kim Watkins (CEC3 First VP and Zoning Committee Chair) - kwatkins@cec3.org
Elizabeth Rose (DOE Deputy Chancellor) – erose2@schools.nyc.gov 
Joe Fiordoliso, President of CEC3: jfiordaliso@cec3.org
DOE Panel for Educational Policy (PEP): panel@schools.nyc.gov
Carmen Fariña, Chancellor, NYC DOE cgfarina@schools.nyc.gov
District 3 Planning: D03proposals@schools.nyc.gov
Ilene Altschul (District 3 Superintendent) - IAltsch@schools.nyc.gov 
Helen Rosenthal (NY City Council) - Helen@HelenRosenthal.com 
Linda Rosenthal (NY State Assembly) -rosenthall@nyassembly.gov; ipseng@nyassembly.gov
Gale Brewer (Manhattan Borough President) - gbrewer@manhattanbp.nyc.gov
Elizabeth R. Caputo, Chair, Community Board 7 Manhattan - mail@cb7.org
Hon. Jerrold Nadler: jerrold.nadler@mail.house.gov
Hon. Scott Stringer: sstringer@comptroller.nyc.gov
DOE Panel for Educational Policy (PEP): panel@schools.nyc.gov 
Manhattan Zoning: ManhattanZoning@schools.nyc.gov 
Laura Zingmond, PEP Manhattan Rep: LZingmond@schools.nyc.gov
Fred Baptiste, PEP Contracts Committee Chair: FBaptiste@schools.nyc.gov
Isaac Carmignani, PEP Contracts Committee Member: ICarmignani@schools.nyc.gov
T. Elzora Cleveland, PEP Member: ECleveland@schools.nyc.gov
Deborah Dillingham, PEP Contracts Committee Member, Queens Representative: DDillingham@schools.nyc.gov
Vanessa Leung, PEP Chair: VLeung@schools.nyc.gov
Gary Linnen, PEP Member: GLinnen@schools.nyc.gov
Kamillah Payne-Hanks, PEP Staten Island Representative: KPayneHanks@schools.nyc.gov
Brad Hoylman, State Senator: hoylman@nysenate.gov
Laura Acosta: Lacosta@pubadvocate.nyc.gov
Ursulina Ramirez, DOE Chief Operating Officer: uramirez@schools.nyc.gov
Melissa Harris, DOE: Melissaharris@schools.nyc.gov

 



Today: Lincoln Towers Unite is counting on you

Lincoln Towers Unite to stay at PS 199 needs your help with “ps199rezoning@gmail.com: Keep Lincoln Towers Together at PS 199”. Join Lincoln Towers Unite and 841 supporters today.