Petition Closed

Declare all languages present in 8th schedule of the Indian constitution as official languages of the Indian Union.

This petition had 6,711 supporters

The ‘Hindi and English only’ policy of the Government of India has put crores of non-Hindi speakers at a disadvantage.

This is especially true as the central government runs a host of services like Banking, Insurance, Passport, PF, Railways, Airports, Highways, Telecom, etc touching the lives of crores of Indians speaking different languages.

In a Union built on the promise of treating everyone as equal, a language policy that is discriminating in nature, is pricking the consciousness of every right thinking Indian.

Even in non-Hindi states, non-Hindi languages are being sidelined in the spheres of administration and public service. We fear that such a discriminatory language policy will end up dividing Indians speaking different languages than uniting them.   

Prime Minister Modi, in addition to being a proud Indian, you are also a proud Gujarati. You have also shown your empathy towards the concerns of other states and their residents.

That’s why we are asking you to declare all the 22 languages as official languages.

We hope you will take cognizance of this grave injustice and take action to safeguard and nurture all languages of India on par with Hindi and English. Linguistic equality will foster a greater sense of unity among Indians speaking different languages. 

Our demands:

1. Amend the Official Languages Act to include all languages present in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution and declare them as official languages of the Indian Union. 

2. Stop the current efforts by the Government Of India to push for the usage of only Hindi in its interaction with the state governments and citizens of this country.

We urge all Indians who believe in fairness and equality for all Indian languages to sign this petition and show to the world that we truly believe in “Unity in Diversity”.

Today: Vasantkumar is counting on you

Vasantkumar Shetty needs your help with “Prime Minister of India: Declare all languages present in 8th schedule of the Indian constitution as official languages of the Indian Union.”. Join Vasantkumar and 6,710 supporters today.