Police out of Pride!

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!


Pride Toronto at a media conference with Mayor John Tory and Police Chief Mark Saunders has announced, that the Toronto police can apply to march in uniform at the 2019 pride parade. The Pride Toronto statement reads that "provided they meet our Rules of Parade Entry, they will be granted a marching permit for the 2019 parade." The rules of parade entry are simply that they follow Pride Toronto policies on branding, vehicle, float and marching safety, and attendance at an information session for all organizers. Not mentioned is the decision by the vast majority of Pride members to specifically bar institutional police contingents from Pride.

This goes against the decision of Pride Toronto's membership, who voted at the AGM in early 2017 to adopt all of Black Lives Matter Toronto (BLM-TO) demands, including, NOT letting the police march in uniform with an institutional prescence. At the Pride AGM in the fall of 2017 the minutes re-affirming this position were adopted. 

Pride TO made this decision without consulting the 2+LGBTIQ communities and its own membership. This is a wrong practice in community development and accountability and is a violation of the decision of the vast majority of the members of Pride Toronto at an AGM. .  

We are calling on Pride Toronto's Staff and Board of Directors to reverse this decision and put this on the agenda for the upcoming PT AGM happening in December 4th 2018. 

PT Announcement: 

https://www.facebook.com/ PrideToronto/posts/ 10166753736052037

Contact Pride TO staff and board: 

Board Emails: 

Erin Edghill + Kevin Rambally
Co-Chairs, Board of Directors

Email cochairs@pridetoronto.com

Staff Emails: 


Olivia Nuamah
Executive Director

Email olivia@pridetoronto.com

Collin Joseph
Festival Director

Email collin@pridetoronto.com

Amber Moyle
Development & Special Events Director

Email amber@pridetoronto.com

Nick Murphy
Production Manager

Email nick@pridetoronto.com

Danny Papadotos
Marketing & Community Relations Manager

Email danny@pridetoronto.com

Bobby MacPherson
Volunteer Program Manager

Email bobby@pridetoronto.com

General Inquiries
Email office@pridetoronto.com

Media Inquiries
Email mediarelations@pridetoronto.com

 



Today: Brian is counting on you

Brian De Matos needs your help with “Police out of Pride!”. Join Brian and 203 supporters today.