Let SF Bars Reopen Responsibly!

0 have signed. Let’s get to 10,000!


A joint message from Heklina & Ben Bleiman:

Calling all fans of SF nightlife! We need your help! 

San Francisco bars are crucial to our neighborhoods' economic and cultural vitality. The City of San Francisco, led by DPH, has stated that bars will not be allowed to reopen until August 13th due to Covid-19. We are respectfully asking the city to reconsider and allow bars to reopen July 13th instead, at the same time as restaurants. One extra month of service might not sound like much, but for many bar owners and their employees it's literally the difference between economic survival and catastrophe.

Bars can provide a safe, responsible, SUPERVISED environment for patrons with social distancing, partitioning, capacity limitations, and group sizes strictly enforced. Dedicated staff can disinfect and sanitize before and after patrons, which is certainly not happening in people's apartments or on packed sidewalks/picnic tables in the park where people are currently gathering.  Responsible bars can be a part of the solution! 

Now is the time to stand up for your favorite establishment. Sign this petition and email the Mayor and your Supervisor. Tell them that "I love SF bars. Please let them open responsibly on July 13th!" Then write about why your favorite bar should be able to reopen before it disappears forever! 

Mayor Breed - mayorlondonbreed@sfgov.org

D1 - Sandy Fewer - sandra.fewer@sfgov.org

D2 - Catherine Stefani - catherine.stefani@sfgov.org

D3 - Aaron Peskin - aaron.peskin@sfgov.org

D4 - Gordon Mar - gordon.mar@sfgov.org

D5 - Dean Preston - dean.preston@sfgov.org

D6 - Matt Haney - matt.haney@sfgov.org 

D7 - Norman Yee - norman.yee@sfgov.org

D8 - Rafael Mandelman - rafael.mandelman@sfgov.org

D9 - Hillary Ronen - hillary.ronen@sfgov.org

D10 - Shamann Walton - shamann.walton@sfgov.org

D11 - Ahsha Safai - ahsha.safai@sfgov.org