Erie Police Department- Fire Abusive Officers NOW!

Erie Police Department- Fire Abusive Officers NOW!

June 1, 2020
Petition to
Mayor Joe Schember and 3 others
Signatures: 12,151Next Goal: 15,000
Support now

Why this petition matters

Started by Mo Sawwan

On Saturday, May 30th, 2020, Hannah Silbaugh was repeatedly maced and kicked by multiple unidentified officers from the Erie Police Department. She posed no threat to anyone. The people of Erie are disgusted by this blatant act of abuse, and demand the immediate termination of the officers involved. Please sign and share this petition to send a clear message to the leadership of our beautiful city: We will not tolerate such abuse from police officers who are sworn to protect and serve our community!

Saturday's protest was a march against police brutality and systemic oppression of our African-American community in Erie and across the nation. Use this experience to strengthen your fight as an ally. Remember, this isn't an isolated incident- African-Americans are treated this way by police REGULARLY! #BlackLivesMatter

This is a call to action! Sign and share the petition so we can reach 5,000 signatures. Once we reach 5k, the signatures will be handed in to the mayor and other local offices. With your help, we can initiate real change.

Links to video footage below-

Contact Major Joe Schember, Chief of Staff Renee Lamis, Chief of Police Daniel Spizarny, and the Erie City Council, and let them know that inaction is inexcusable!

Mayor Joe Schember-

Chief of Staff Renee Lamis- (814) 870-1206

Chief of Police Daniel Spizarny- (814) 870-1113

City Council President James Winarski- (814) 464-4143

Councilwoman Liz Allen- (814) 897-3953

Councilman David Brennan- (814) 602-1566

Councilman Ed Brzezinski- (814) 860-6020

Councilman Michael Keys- (814) 602-0773

Councilwoman Kathleen Schaaf- (814) 897-6310

Councilman Mel Witherspoon- (814) 464-3730



Support now
Signatures: 12,151Next Goal: 15,000
Support now

Decision Makers

  • erie city council
  • Mayor Joe Schember
  • Chief of Staff Renee Lamis
  • Chief of Police Daniel Spizarny