Petition Update

Water Fluoridation is NOT about Dental Health!

Jacob Barnett
Woodacre, CA

Jun 29, 2014 — Jun 24, 2014

Hello Folks! ~ The following message was posted last week but contained a large amount of incoherent formatting that left the post largely unreadable. Following is the revised version. Please circulate this post among your friends, neighbors and fellow water drinkers. And take action, as you feel moved.

As most of you are aware, this change.org petition presented to MMWD (Marin Municipal Water District) Board of Directors on August 20, 2013, met with an unwillingness and a stated inability of the board to take any action. (period)

Recent research has revealed MMWD DOES HAVE THE AUTHORITY to discontinue adding fluoride to Marin County's drinking water supply! They are being less than forthright with the public about their authority and responsibility to provide safe, healthful water to our communities and attempting to stand behind a fallacious legal interpretation to maintain the status quo. We have decided to shift our focus.

Members of the ad hoc http://www.SafeWaterMarin.org organizing committee urge you to request Marin County Board of Supervisors AND constituent town council members to require MMWD to accept their legal responsibility and obligation to provide safe, healthful water to our communities and discontinue adding hydrofluorosalicilic acid to our drinking water. Now!

Should you decide to contact individual members of these bodies, please be respectful! And consider winning them as allies in our effort. Know too that many members of these councils ALREADY understand the dangers of unregulated dosages of hydrofluorosalicilic acid and support our position! It's a request for influence and action!

<strong>Names and email addresses of elected officials follow in the update below:</strong>
IF the message below is unclear or appears unreadable (largely obscured by HTML code) please visit: http://safewatermarin.org/062314H2O.html

as Web Page: http://safewatermarin.org/062314H2O.html

as PDF File: http://safewatermarin.org/062314UPDATE.pdf

On Behalf of the Ad Hoc SafeWaterMarin.org Organizing Committee,
Thank you for your continuing support and perseverance!

=================================================

Water Fluoridation is NOT about Dental Health!
 
"Water fluoridation is simply a hazardous waste management tool.  It has nothing to do with dental health."
Dr. William Hirzy, former risk assessment scientist at the Environmental Protection Agency.  See links here:
http://fluoridealert.org/fan-tv/hirzy/ and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViNNIwmzTzI

Our local MMWD Board Members are putting hydrofluorosilicic acid, (that comes from the scrubbers of the phosphate fertilizer industry), into our drinking water without dosage control, medical oversight nor individual consent.  Does this makes sense?
Instead of working with our community to end the unethical practice of water fluoridation, the MMWD are doing everything they can to keep water fluoridation going in our community.  Why??!!
 
The MMWD are not bound by the 1995 mandate because the money paying for water fluoridation comes from real estate owned by the MMWD.  This is not outside money and therefore, there is no mandate.  Also, because the MMWD have NOT done a study on the environmental impact of water fluoridation, they are in violation of the California Environmental Quality Act laws.
 
The MMWD are also in violation of the 1972 Marin water fluoridation ordinance because the hydrofluorosilicic acid that is put into our water is NOT approved by the FDA.  The National Sanitation Foundation does not have the authority to approve chemical substances that are put into our water to have a medical effect on our bodies.   
 
How much longer is the MMWD going to use our bodies and our environment as a dumping ground for this hazardous waste?! 
        
What Can You Do? 
1. Contact your Marin County Board of Supervisor and request that they pass a Precautionary Principle Ordinance in Marin which would make water fluoridation illegal (and the use of any chemical in our water and environment that is not proven to be 100% safe). San Francisco Precautionary Principle Ordinance was adopted in 2003.

To email the San Rafael Board of Supervisors click here:
http://www.marincounty.org/Global/Contact-Us-Form?qs=/depts/bs/contact-us/contact-collection/general-contact  and
District 1 - Susan Adams: skinsey@co.marin.ca.us
District 2 - Katie Rice: krice@co.marin.ca.us
District 3 - Kate Sears: ksears@co.marin.ca.us
District 4 - Steve Kinsey: sadams@co.marin.ca.us
District 5 - Judy Arnold: jarnold@co.marin.ca.us

2. Contact your town/city council and request that they pass a resolution calling on the MMWD to end water fluoridation in Marin.  See contact links below.
3. Send this to at least 10 people in Marin County. 
_________________________________________________________
We strongly encourage you to act on this now by contacting town council members personally.
Consider winning each person as an ally on this important issue!
~ Thank you! ~

Town/city email contact links:
San Rafael - link to all council members' email via reply form page:  http://fs18.formsite.com/cityofsanrafael/form19/index.html
and direct emails for 2 council members:
Damon Connolly, Vice Mayor: damon.Connolly@cityofsanrafael.org
Kate Colin, Council member: kate.colin@cityofsnarafael.org

Mill Valley:
Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Mayor: cityclerk@cityofmillvalley.org
Kenneth Wachtel , Vice Mayor: KRWachtel@Gmail.com
Garry Lion, Councilmember: garry@lionassociates.com
John McCauley, Councilmember: jmccauley@cityofmillvalley.org
Jessica Jackson, Councilmember: jjackson@cityofmillvalley.org

Corte Madera:
Mayor, Michael Lappert: michael@lapperts.com
Vice Mayor, Carla Condon: condon94925@yahoo.com
Councilmember, Sloan Bailey: sloancbailey@yahoo.com
Councilmember, Diane Furst: delfurst@gmail.com
Council Member, Bob Ravasio: bobravasio@comcast.net

Sausalito:
Mayor Ray Withy: rwithy@ci.sausalito.ca.us
Vice Mayor Thomas Theodores: ttheodores@ci.sausalito.ca.us 
Councilmember Jonathan Leone: jleone@ci.sausalito.ca.us
Councilmember Linda Pfeifer: lpfeifer@ci.sausalito.ca.us
Councilmember Herb Weiner: hweiner@ci.sausalito.ca.us

San Anselmo:
Tom McInerney, Mayor: tmm@odnss.com
John Wright, Vice Mayor: johndwright1125@yahoo.com
Kay Coleman, Councilmember: colemankp@comcast.net
Ford Greene, Councilmember: fordgreene@comcast.net
Doug Kelly, Councilmember: dougkelly57@gmail.com

Larkspur:
Catherine Way, Councilmember: cway@cityoflarkspur.org
Dan Hillmer, Councilmember: dhillmer@cityoflarkspur.org
Larry Chu, Vice Mayor: lchu@cityoflarkspur.org
Kevin Haroff, Councilmember: kharoff@cityoflarkspur.org
Ann Morrison, Mayor: amorrison@cityoflarkspur.org

Fairfax:
David Weinsoff, Mayor: dweinsoff@townoffairfax.org
Larry Bragman, Vice Mauyor: lbragman@townoffairfax.org
John Reed, Councilmember: jreed@townoffairfax.org
Renee Goddard, Councilmember: rgoddard@townoffairfax.org
Barbara Coler, Councilmember: bcoler@townoffairfax.org

Ross:
Beach Kuhl, Mayor: beach.kuhl@sedgwicklaw.com
Rupert Russell, Council Member: rrussell@sflaw.com
Elizabeth Brekhus, Mayor Pro Tempore: elizabethb@brekhus.com
Carla Small, Council Member: carlasmall@aol.com
Katie Hoertkorn, Council Member: khoertkorn@gmail.com
Rob Braulik, Town Manager: rbraulik@townofross.org
Linda Lopez, Administrative Manager/Town Clerk: llopez@townofross.org

Tiburon:
Councilmember, Jim Fraser: JSFraser1@comcast.net
Councilmember, Erin Tollini: erin20000@gmail.com
Councilmember, Emmett O’Donnell: emmett@vikingind.com
Vice Mayor, Frank Doyle: frank@standingstonegroup.com
Mayor Alice, Fredericks: alice@alicefredericks.net
Town Manager, Margaret (Peggy) Curran: pcurran@townoftiburon.org
Town Attorney, Ann Danforth: adanforth@townoftiburon.org

Belvedere:
Mary Neilan, City Manager: mneilan@cityofbelvedere.org
Rob Epstein, City Attorney: repstein@cityofbelvedere.org
Emily Longfellow, Deputy City Attorney: cityclerk@cityofbelvedere.org
Becky Eastman, Finance Officer: eastman@cityofbelvedere.org
Leslie Carpentiers, City Clerk/Risk Manager: lcarpentiers@cityofbelvedere.org
 

Fluoride Action Network
Fluoride Action Network
our most valuable asset is you. with your help, we can create change. Stay informed and sign-up for our free newsletter to get monthly updates about how fluoride is affecting all of us. We are at a crucial tipping point and need your help to get our water free of fluoride.
http://fluoridealert.org