Kellogg’s: Please make it vegan!

0 have signed. Let’s get to 2,500!


Whilst Kellogg’s does have a number of vegan cereals and products, they could expand this range extensively by simply switching the vitamin D used in their cereals to a plant-based version.

The vitamin D currently used in most of Kellogg’s products is an animal-derived version of vitamin D3. This comes from a substance called lanolin, which is found in sheep’s wool.

Vegans avoid wool and products made from wool for a number of reasons. Firstly, there is an inherent link between the wool industry and the meat industry. Additionally, undercover investigations into the wool industry have shown abuse and horrific treatment of gentle sheep during the sheering process.

Plant-based vitamin D can be in the form of vitamin D2 or a plant-derived D3.

Last year, Animal Aid announced that supermarket giant Asda has swapped the vitamin D in a number of their cereals to a plant-based version, making a number of their own-brand cereals vegan.

This simple swap does nothing to alter the taste or quality of the product, but it does open it up to a huge and ever-growing vegan market.

Please join us in urging Kellogg’s to swap the vitamin D3 in their cereals for a vegan version.