Appeal the Investigation of MP Erin Weir

Appeal the Investigation of MP Erin Weir

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!

We, the undersigned, demand fairness for MP Erin Weir 

Federal NDP leader Jagmeet Singh must allow for an appeal to an independent outside agency. 

Harassment and sexual harassment complaints need to be dealt with thoroughly, confidentially and fairly, by well understood processes. Every existing process used in the House of Commons allows for an appeal …  except for the one created for Erin Weir’s case. 

The report of the investigation was never made public.   This has hindered an informed public discussion of harassment and sexual harassment.  It is usual for harassment reports to be made public with the confidentiality of the complainants protected.  This reporting deters harassment and educates us about how to treat each other respectfully. 

The sensitivity trainer, who has read the investigator’s report, says the investigation concerning three complainants found Weir was guilty of “a habit of standing too close and of inserting himself into conversations with others without regard for what the investigator assessed to be clear non-verbal cues”.   The investigator judged the behaviour sexual harassment on the “less serious end of the  spectrum”.

Weir apologized to these complainants. He has taken the sensitivity training recommended by Singh’s office.  The Trainer states Weir understands his mistake and is very unlikely to repeat it. Weir has consistently maintained the confidentiality of the sexual harassment complainants. 

Weir was not expelled for sexual harassment. 

Singh said Weir was expelled for releasing enough information to identify the fourth complainant in the (non-sexual) harassment complaint.  News reports show this complainant went public first with her account before the findings of the report were officially released Before responding to the media with his defense, Weir asked for help from Singh’s office.  He received none. Weir has never named the complainant and her name has never been reported. 

Sixty-seven former Saskatchewan MPs and MLAs have identified "inherent bias" in the original investigation, calling it a "fishing expedition" and requested that Singh find a way to return Weir to the NDP caucus. 

The House of Commons Policy on Preventing and Addressing Harassment, the Code of Conduct for Members of the House of Commons: Sexual Harassment, The Canadian Human Rights Act, the NDP staff collective agreement and the NDP Policy on Discrimination, Harassment and Sexual Violence all provide appeal procedures. 

We demand an outside authority such as the House of Commons’ Chief Human Resources Officer or the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal review the investigation process to ensure justice and fairness. 

This petition is sponsored by:
Donna Holmes, Regina
Susanne Arndt, Regina
Bonnie Young, Regina
Jim Holmes, Regina
Shirley Dixon, Regina
Verda Petry, Regina
Abby Ulmer, Regina
Gwen Falconer, Regina
Barry Falconer, Regina
Florence Stratton, Regina
Joanne Crofford, Regina
Susan Butson, Regina
Liz Kalmakoff, Regina
Kathy Winslow, Regina
Clay Winslow, Regina
Ingrid Alesich, Regina
Helen Campbell, Regina
Jessilyn McKim, Regina
Linda Gunningham, Regina
Wayne Thrasher, Regina
Alice Fredrick, Regina
Erica Ellson, Regina
Ruth McKim, Regina
Lorne Nystrom, Regina
Hazel Eros, Regina
Lucy Pelletier, Cowessess First Nation
Trevor Peterson, Assiniboia
Glenys Eberle, Regina
Ron Eberle, Regina
Darrell Shire, Regina
Pat Atkinson, Saskatoon
Deb Higgins, Moose Jaw
Carolyn Jones, Saskatoon
Pat Lorje, Saskatoon
Evan Carlson, Saskatoon
Eric Cline, Saskatoon
Ron Fisher, Saskatoon
Dorothea Fisher, Saskatoon
Robert Hackett, Saskatoon
Jason Hicks, Saskatoon
Dan Danielson, Saskatoon
Nancy Carmichael, Saskatoon
Ken MacDougall, Muskoday
Bev Grain, Muskoday
Ray Johnson, Waskesiu
Eloise Johnson, Waskesiu
Lloyd Johnson, Spiritwood
Evelyn Johnson, Spiritwood
Ken Kutz, Saskatoon
Ray Funk, Spruce Home
Dave Lepard, Saskatoon      
Keith Yorgenson, Vonda
Shawn Banman, Aberdeen
Joy Bastness, Hagen
Jerome Nial, Saskatoon
Ashlee Hicks, Saskatoon
John Parry, Saskatoon
Stephanie Sydiaha, Saskatoon