Petition Closed

Do NOT Pass Bill 293 - "In GOD We Trust"

1,011
Supporters

 

Senate Bill 293 is in the prefile stage and would, if passed, require extra fees to the state government to have diety specific language removed from license plates in Georgia.

 

SB 293 would include “In God We Trust” on each license plate. Having this removed would require an extra fee. This bill is in direct violation of each citizen First Amendments rights. The separation of church and state is a fundamental right that all US citizens have to protect us and our ability to practice the religion of our choosing without governmental interference.

 

In choosing GOD over other dieties, forces, and no diety; the government is choosing Christianity over other religions. As the US Constitution and related precedents hold; this is a violation of the separation of church and state. This is no different than having the license plate state, “In Allah We Trust”. The government shall not promote one religion over another.

By: Senators Heath of the 31st, Rogers of the 21st, Tippins of the 37th, and Hill of the 4th

Senator Bill Heath, District 31
Email: billheath@billheath.net, bill.heath@senate.ga.gov
Phone: (404) 656-3943
Fax: (404) 463-4161
Legislative Assistant: Allison Beasley - allison.beasley@senate.ga.gov

Senator Chip Rogers, District 21
Email: chiprogers21@comcast.net , chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov
Phone: (404) 463-1378
Fax: (404) 657-9887
Legislative Assistant: Susan Henry - susan.henry@senate.ga.gov

Senator Lindsey Tippins, District 37
Email: lindsey.tippins@senate.ga.gov
Phone: (404) 657-0406
Fax: (404) 657-0459
Legislative Assistant: Kathleen Cominski - kathleen.cominski@senate.ga.gov

Senator Jack Hill, District 4
Email: jack.hill@senate.ga.gov
Phone: (404) 656-5038
Fax: (404) 657-7094
Legislative Assistant: Angela Touhy - angela.touhy@senate.ga.gov

This petition was delivered to:
  • Georgia Governor


Kim Rippere started this petition with a single signature, and now has 1,011 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.