Help Return Bears Ear National Monument

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!

In July of 2015, leaders from  the Hopi Tribe, Navajo Tribe, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, Pueblo Zuni, and Ute Indian Tribe put longstanding differences aside forming the Bears Ears Inter-Tribal coalition. This coalition was forged with the sole purpose of protecting and preserving Bears Ears as it holds immense cultural, religious and historical importance to the natural inhabitants of the land.

We stand in solidarity with the Inter- Tribal coalition and the tribes listed at the bottom of this petition as we believe the time has come to put an end to the sacrificing of Indian land in pursuit of temporary financial gain through the extraction of oil, gas, potash and the allowance of mining practices which forever devastate the land and the individuals who are connected to the land physically, culturally, and spiritually.

With proclamation 9681 President Trump effectively shrunk Bears Ears National Monument by 85% decreasing the protected land from 1.35 million acres to 201, 876 thousand acres. While Bears Ears Monument has been a controversial issue since former President Obama declared he would protect the 1.35 million acres in 2016. Admist President Trump's proclamation reports have begun to paint the all to familiar picture of the United States governments incessant betrayal of the Native people in the pursuit of financial gain.

By signing this petition you are advocating for the permanent protection of Bears Ears National Monument. This includes restoring the National monument to the original 1.35 million acres protected by the President Obama’s 2016 proclamation. As well as protecting the Bears Ears national monument for any future encroachments on the designated 1.35 million acres.

Navajo Nation, Hopi Tribe, Ute Mountain, Uintah and Ouray Ute Indian Tribe, Hualapai Tribe, Southern Ute Tribe, Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah, Confederated Tribes of the Goshute, Skull Valley Band of Goshute, and Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation, Pueblos of Acoma, Cochiti, Isleta, Jemez, Laguna, Nambe, Ohkay Owingeh, Picuris, Pojoaque, Sandia, San Felipe, San Ildefonso, Santa Ana, Santa Clara, Santo Domingo, Taos, Tesuque, Ysleta Del Sur, Zia and Zuni, National Congress of American Indians



Want to share this petition?