Companies should provide labels on foods that contain gelatin.

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!


I have been vegetarian all of my life. At least that's what I thought. as it turns out this ingredient harmlessly labeled as gelatin is not vegetarian, and definitely not vegan. According to PETA, gelatin is protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. In essence, it’s made primarily from the stuff meat industries have left over —pork skins, horns, and cattle bones! Technically not even a food source, it’s used as a thickening agent in a number of products and gives food a soft, squishy consistency. I know it’s gross and I hate to rain down on your gummy bear parade, but you and your kids really shouldn’t be eating this stuff. I don’t even know why it’s legally permissible to be considered a “food” product. Some of the many food items containing gelatin are listed here. •

Marshmallows 
Pop-tarts w/ frosting
Mini Wheats
Other frosted cereal
Jell-O
Skittles, Star-bursts, Jr. mints, Trident gum, M&M’s, Snicker bars
•Peeps
•Gummy worms/bears
•Yogurts
•Frozen vegetables (in a bag)
•Icing/frosting
•Cream cheese
Sour cream
•Coffee, milk substitutes
•Lozenges
Hostess cupcakes- Hostess brand   

This disturbs me that when somebody makes me hot chocolate with marshmallows, I have to request that they make it again with no marshmallows. Most people don't know what it is even if they are meat eaters. I feel if everybody was informed of what gelatin is, nobody would eat it again. 

Thank you if you signed the petition and read this.

Please check out this link. I got a majority of this piece of writing from here. https://www.top10homeremedies.com/news-facts/gelatin-exposed-vegan.html

All the best.

-Ben-



Today: Ben is counting on you

Ben W needs your help with “Elizabeth Warren: Companies should provide labels on foods that contain gelatin.”. Join Ben and 374 supporters today.