Halt the demolition of one of Bronzeville's historic substations

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!


Built in 1931, the ComEd substation at 626 E. 40th Street once provided power for the now defunct Kenwood L line. Designated as possessing potential significance in the context of the surrounding community during the Chicago Historic Resources Survey, the substation's demolition permit will reach the end of its 90-day hold on January 31st, 2019. Without intervention, Bronzeville could lose another beautiful monument to its rich history.

We urge ComEd to halt the demolition of its Herman von Volst-designed substation at 626 E. 40th Street in Chicago and work with the community and neighborhood leaders to find a preservation-sensitive use for the historic building.

(Photo courtesy of Frederick J. Nachman at flickr.com/photos/brulelaker)


Want to share this petition?