Petition Closed

Accept game designers as authors and the SAZ as a negotiating partner!

This petition had 4,686 supporters

Do you know the creative faces behind your favourite board and card games? For example the game designers Reiner Knizia (Lost Cities), Wolfgang Kramer (Take 6!) Susan McKinley Ross (Qwirkle), Klaus Teuber (Settlers of Catan) or Klaus-Jürgen Wrede (Carcassonne)?

There would be no games without game designers, as there would be no movies or books without writers, no articles without journalists, and no sculptures without sculptors. Game designers create the works that actually give the game companies their reason to exist. But as with all cultural works, games, and therefore their authors, need legal protection, too.

The FACHGRUPPE SPIEL e.V. (since March 2014: Spieleverlage e.V.), the federation of German game companies, refuses to acknowledge that game designers are originators under German Copyright Act. And the Fachgruppe denies so to acknowledge that the Game Designer Association (Spiele-Autoren-Zunft e.V., SAZ) is the representative association of game designers – it is only a group of "suppliers".

We therefore call for the acknoledgment that game designers, as a matter of course, are authors under German Copyright Act. Help us to enforce this demand!

About us: The Spiele-Autoren-Zunft e.V. (SAZ / Game Designer Association) represents over 400 members worldwide and has now written an open letter to the FACHGRUPPE SPIEL and its member publishers plus a legal opinion under the title "Intellectual Property Rights Regarding Games". Clear conclusion: There is no convincing argument to doubt the rights of game designers as originators of their works.

Background information is available here.
The German version of the petition is here
- please sign only once!

A small selection of well known game designers who signed already: Ted Alspach, Christine Basler, Antoine Bauza, Gunter Baars, Edith Grein-Böttcher, Steffen Bogen, Inka und Markus Brand, Hajo Bücken, Günter Burkhardt, Bruno Cathala, Charles Chevallier, Thomas Daum, Stefan Dorra, Bruno Faidutti, Stefan Feld, Roberto Fraga, Friedemann Friese, Kirsten Hiese, Reiner Knizia, Max Kobbert, Wolfgang Kramer, Vital Lacerda, Violetta Leitner, Susan McKinley Ross, Andrea Meyer, Klaus Miltenberger, Alan R. Moon, Paolo Mori, Niek Neuwahl, Uwe Rapp, Michael Rieneck, Carlo A. Rossi, Uwe Rosenberg, Michael Schacht, Jens-Peter Schliemann, Andreas Seyfarth, Reinhard Staupe, Andreas Steding, Peer Sylvester, Klaus Teuber, Marco Teubner, Touko Tahkokallio, Reinhold Wittig, Anja Wrede, Klaus-Jürgen Wrede, Jaques Zeimet.

Today: Spiele-Autoren-Zunft e.V. – SAZ is counting on you

Spiele-Autoren-Zunft e.V. – SAZ needs your help with “Accept game designers as authors and the SAZ as a negotiating partner!”. Join Spiele-Autoren-Zunft e.V. – SAZ and 4,685 supporters today.