Petition update

UPDATE: Don't Mute DC --Go-Go 4 Justice 6 p.m. Friday 5/24 @ UMC

Dont Mute DC The Movement
Washington D.C., DC, United States

May 22, 2019 — 

Keep the #DontMuteDC conversation going during a go-go performance and rally 6 p.m. Friday 5/24 at the parking lot of United Medical Center (UMC) at 1310 Southern Ave SE, Washington, D.C. Listen to TOB, UCB, Michelle Blackwell, Sirius Company & Go-Go All Stars perform--and learn about latest budget cuts that imperil the lives and future of the Chocolate City.

The city is awash in gentrified money, yet the council voted to cut $25 million to UMC, the ONLY hospital serving Wards 7 and 8. To be clear: without a fully operational hospital in Ward 7 and 8, people will die. As the city negotiates with George Washington University over a new site at the old St. Elizabeth’s, they must know that black lives are more than bargaining chips. We ask the following:

--Restore city funds to United Medical Center

--Restore funds to Ward 7 and 8 neighborhood schools, which the DC Fiscal Policy Center agrees must be a top priority.

--Restore funding to Benjamin Banneker Academic High School's construction

--Implement a city-wide curriculum about D.C.’s history and go-go culture at all publicly funded schools.

Come out Friday to party with event hosts Tony Lewis Jr. and Ronald Moten and show the city that we won’t tolerate these attacks on the lifeblood to our communities. For this and other updates, please text “Native” 40649 and follow “dontmutedc” on Instagram and Twitter.

Can’t make it out? Call and email the city council before the final vote May 28:

Chairman - Phil Mendelson - 202-724-8032; pmendelson@dccouncil.us

At-large - Anita Bonds - 202-724-8064; abonds@dccouncil.us

At-large - David Grosso - 202-724-8105; dgrosso@dccouncil.us

At-large - Elissa Silverman - 202-724-7772; esilverman@dccouncil.us

At-large - Robert White - 202-724-8174; rwhite@dccouncil.us

Ward 1 - Brianne Nadeau - 202-724-8181; bnadeau@dccouncil.us

Ward 2 - Jack Evans - 202-724-8023; jevans@dccouncil.us

Ward 3 - Mary Cheh - 202-724-8118; mcheh@dccouncil.us

Ward 4 - Brandon Todd - 202-724-8052; btodd@dccouncil.us

Ward 5 - Kenyan McDuffie - 202-724-8028; kmcduffie@dccouncil.us


Keep fighting for people power!

Politicians and rich CEOs shouldn't make all the decisions. Today we ask you to help keep Change.org free and independent. Our job as a public benefit company is to help petitions like this one fight back and get heard. If everyone who saw this chipped in monthly we'd secure Change.org's future today. Help us hold the powerful to account. Can you spare a minute to become a member today?

I'll power Change with $5 monthlyPayment method

Discussion

Please enter a comment.

We were unable to post your comment. Please try again.