Save MO Libraries!

5K supporters


Petition update

Now the Senate is trying to defund us by $6 million!

Kansas City Public Library

Apr 7, 2015 — The Governor released the withholdings to libraries and now the Senate and House are trying to defund us by $6 million! Tonight the Senate will be debating a bill that in its current form will be just as bad as the Governor’s withholdings over the next fiscal year! We need you to contact your Senators right now! First, copy and paste the following message (please feel free to change it.) and then send it to the email addresses listed just after the message. After you do that, go to this website http://www.senate.mo.gov/15info/SenateRoster.htm and call each office and say the same script! If this money is not restored tonight it will be very hard to get back. Do this now! The Senate reconvenes at 4:00 p.m.
Sample script:

As Missourians we love our libraries. If you go forward with the Senate Committee recommendations on HCS HB 12 without 12.102 – the $3.1 million allocated for Remote Electronic Access for Libraries then internet access will be lost by thousands of Missourians in rural areas. And if you reduce 12.100- #3.6 million library aid allocated for libraries then it will be devastating to libraries all across the state. We were excited to see that the Governor released his withholding of the $6 million in library aid and hope you will also recognize how important this issue is to Missourians and not defund libraries. Please sponsor and amendment that would return full funding to Missouri Libraries!


Dan.Brown@senate.mo.gov; Mike.Cunningham@senate.mo.gov; Tom.Dempsey@senate.mo.gov; Bob.Dixon@senate.mo.gov; Jamilah.Nasheed@senate.mo.gov; Bob.Onder@senate.mo.gov; mparson@senate.mo.gov; eschmitt@senate.mo.gov; Jill.Schupp@senate.mo.gov; Ryan.Silvey@senate.mo.gov; Paul.Wieland@senate.mo.gov; kurt.schaefer@senate.mo.gov; shalonn.curls@senate.mo.gov; mike.kehoe@senate.mo.gov; david.pearce@senate.mo.gov; mparson@senate.mo.gov;


Save MO Libraries!


Keep fighting for people power!

Politicians and rich CEOs shouldn't make all the decisions. Today we ask you to help keep Change.org free and independent. Our job as a public benefit company is to help petitions like this one fight back and get heard. If everyone who saw this chipped in monthly we'd secure Change.org's future today. Help us hold the powerful to account. Can you spare a minute to become a member today?

I'll power Change with $5 monthlyPayment method

Discussion