End Brutal 'Coyote Whacking' in Wyoming!

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500,000!


The image of this coyote is haunting.

The story behind it is unimaginable animal cruelty.

It’s happening in WY.

It happens to coyotes (wolves are being targeted as well).

It is legal.

This Wyoming coyote is one of thousands who are being persecuted by human killers in the state, who practice ‘Yote Whackin'. It includes coyote killing contests and snowmobiles. This coyote is plastered in the snow under a snowmobile after just being chased until she/he could no longer escape. The hunter arranged his camera on the snowmobile to film himself running over the coyote several times before grabbing the coyote by the tail and swinging the animal to beat her/his head against the snowmobile, again and again, until the job is done when he tosses the coyote, as he smiles into the camera.

You can read more about this animal cruelty, and also watch a video here (warning, the video is extremely graphic):  https://mountainjournal.org/hunting-in-america-faces-an-ethical-reckoning

The photo and video above “ … offer brutal glimpses at reality, and they speak not only truth on the ground but to the fact such behavior is condoned by political and social leaders in Wyoming, who let them happen without comment.” (Todd Wilkinson).

Coyotes in WY and other western states have no protection at all … everything goes. We also have anecdotal evidence that hunters in Montana enjoy chasing and running over coyotes with their recreational vehicles.

No animal deserves this type of the suffering and cruel death.

No animal deserves to be treated with such aggression, brutality and violence.

Please take immediate action and contact WY’s officials to prohibit predator killing contests and killing coyotes with vehicles – now!

Please sign this petition to demand that the state of Wyoming immediately provide protection for predators and prohibit atrocious behavior such as coyote/predator killing contests, and chasing and running over coyotes (or any wild animal) with any vehicle, including aircrafts, ATVs, ORVs, cars and snowmobiles.

You can also write your own letter denouncing this unhinged cruelty, or you can personalize the letter below, and send it to the officials listed below. We must stop the pathological torture of our wildlife.

Public Photo: "Coyote snow camo", and "that face you make when a snowmobile runs you over".
Public photos and videos under Fair Use for educational purpose.

 

LETTER:

Dear official,

I was shocked to learn that Wyoming allows ‘yote whackin,’ a practice that include coyote killing contests and killing coyotes with snowmobiles.

In just one video posted online, a hunter can be seen chasing a coyote to exhaustion in deep snow, deliberately running the animal over several times, and then grabbing the coyote by the tail and slamming the animal onto his snowmobile while smiling into the camera. You can read more about this issue and also watch a video here:  https://mountainjournal.org/hunting-in-america-faces-an-ethical-reckoning

Videos like the one above “ … offer brutal glimpses at reality, and they speak not only truth on the ground but to the fact such behavior is condoned by political and social leaders in Wyoming, who let them happen without comment.” (Todd Wilkinson).

Predator killing contests and killing wild animals with vehicles goes against the ethical standards laid out by the North American Wildlife Model and directly violates fair chase, respect for and humane killing of wild animals.

What gives hunters the right to engage in behavior that otherwise would be punished with a felony animal cruelty charge? No animal, whether domestic or wild deserves to be treated with such outrageous aggression, brutality and violence.

I am asking you to immediately provide protection for predators and prohibit atrocious behavior such as coyote/predator killing contests, and chasing and running over coyotes (or any wild animal) with any vehicle, including aircrafts, ATVs, ORVs, cars and snowmobiles.

Sincerely,

 

The following list includes WY’s governor, legislators, senators, representatives, the director of the Game and Fish Department and its commissioners.

governor.elect@wyo.gov,Jeff.Wasserburger@wyoleg.gov,Michael.VonFlatern@wyoleg.gov,Cheri.Steinmetz@wyoleg.gov,Charles.Scott@wyoleg.gov,Chris.Rothfuss@wyoleg.gov, Ray.Peterson@wyoleg.gov,Drew.Perkins@wyoleg.gov,Stephan.Pappas@wyoleg.gov,Tara.Nethercott@wyoleg.gov,Glenn.Moniz@wyoleg.gov,Bill.Landen@wyoleg.gov,Dave.Kinskey@wyoleg.gov,Larry.Hicks@wyoleg.gov,Mike.Gierau@wyoleg.gov,Affie.Ellis@wyoleg.gov,Ogden.Driskill@wyoleg.gov,Dan.Dockstader@wyoleg.gov,
Hank.Coe@wyoleg.gov,Cale.Case@wyoleg.gov,Anthony.Bouchard@wyoleg.gov,Brian.Boner@wyoleg.gov,Bo.Biteman@wyoleg.gov,Eli.Bebout@wyoleg.gov,Fred.Baldwin@wyoleg.gov,Liisa.AnselmiDalton@wyoleg.gov,jameslee.anderson@wyoleg.gov,Wyatt.Agar@wyoleg.gov,scott.talbott@wyo.gov,mark.anselmi@wyo.gov,david.rael@wyo.gov,patrick.crank@wyo.gov,mike.schmid@wyo.gov,gaylynn.byrd@wyo.gov,peter.dube@wyo.gov,keith.culver@wyo.gov