Shelter killing hundreds of cats when program available to help!

Shelter killing hundreds of cats when program available to help!

0 have signed. Let’s get to 7,500!
At 7,500 signatures, this petition is more likely to get a reaction from the decision maker!
Bobbi Anthony started this petition to Utah

NORTH UTAH COUNTY ANIMAL SHELTER (NUVAS) – IT IS TIME TO CHANGE!

North Utah Valley Animal Shelter (NUVAS) has been offered the opportunity to initiate a pilot program for community cats. Best Friends Animal Society has offered funds for a Trap, Neuter, Return (TNR) program that would save the lives of hundred of cats. Community Cats are defined by Best Friends as “unowned, free-roaming cats (aka stray or feral cats) who live and thrive outdoors, rather than living indoors as pets. Best Friends Animal Society and other organizations use the term “community cat” because these animals are part of the community in which they live and are valued and often cared for by community residents.”

The program offered by Best Friends includes, funding for a pilot program to range from 6 months to 2 years. The offer includes an employee that would transport the cats for spay/neuter/vaccinations (cost included) and return to the area from which they came. Currently, these cats (average of 10-15 a week) are euthanized in the gas chamber that NUVAS continues to utilize. Yes! NUVAS still uses a gas chamber for dog and cat euthanasia’s despite having been offered a grant from the Humane Society of the United States to remove it and change to euthanasia by injection (EBI). I recently attended the board meeting for NUVAS and asked the board members how many of them had witnessed the euthanasia method they support. Of the 11 members present only 2 had watched this form of euthanasia. It is my opinion that if you support an action, you should have knowledge of the process and trauma these animals endure before they die in the manner you support.

NUVAS is set up as a Service District with the purpose of serving the needs of the public they represent. What we need, is for our shelter (NUVAS) to become user friendly for the citizens they serve. It is time for the Director of NUVAS Tug Gettling and the board members to be open to change and willing to try new programs that are proven to work. Over the years, NUVAS has been the source of negative news stories and yet does nothing to promote good will within our community.

Please, if you live in North Utah County contact the board member that represents your city and let them know you support change at your animal shelter. Utah County residents please contact the county commissioners listed below. If you don’t live in Utah County please SHARE, SHARE, SHARE you never know who this may reach. This could be our last chance to invoke change at NUVAS.

Alpine - David Boerner dboerner@lonepeakpolice.com 801-756-6347

American Fork - Darren Falsley dfalslev@afcity.net 801-763-3020

Cedar Hills-Jenny Peay jpeay@cedarhills.org 801-785-9668

Eagle Mountain- David Mortensen - dmortensen@emcity.org 801-789-6605

Highland- Scott Smith scott@highlandcity.org 801-360-1214

Lehi-Jeff Magnusson jcmagnusson@lehi-ut.gov 385-201-1005

Lindon- Jeff Acerson jacerson@lindoncity.org 801-785-5043

Orem - Trent Colledge tdcolledge@orem.org 801-229-7080

Pleasant Grove- Carl Nielson carl@pg911.org 801-785-3506

Saratoga Springs-Owen Jackson ojackson@saratogaspringscity.com 801-766-9793  

Utah County- Steve Alder stevea@utahcounty.gov 801-851-7525

0 have signed. Let’s get to 7,500!
At 7,500 signatures, this petition is more likely to get a reaction from the decision maker!