Pass Hands Free Driving Legislation in Massachusetts
0 have signed. Let’s get to 1,500!
Hands Free driving laws save lives. Driving while holding a device in your hands is this generation's drunk driving. Texting increases your chance of crashing 600%. Dialing a phone number increases your chance of crashing 1,200%. No matter how you use your phone, it takes a full 27 seconds to focus on driving again.
In 2016, new NHTSA data shows that at least 3,450 people were killed in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers, including those who were texting and driving. In Massachusetts, traffic deaths jumped 12.8 percent in 2016, more than double the national rate (5.6 percent).
Sign our petition to get the Massachusetts House of Representatives to pass Hands Free Legislation before the end of July.
Massachusetts is the only New England state, other than Maine, to not have a hands free driving law. Crash fatalities on Massachusetts roads continue to increase and experts universally point to Distracted Driving as the main factor.
The Massachusetts Senate passed legislation in June 2017 and Governor Baker endorsed that legislation in November 2017. It's time for the Massachusetts House of Representatives to pass this legislation now so we are all safer every day - drivers, cyclists, pedestrians.
Join us in calling on the Massachusetts House of Representatives to vote on and pass Hands Free Driving legislation by the end of this legislative session, July 31, 2018. It's time.
Today: TextLess Live More is counting on you
TextLess Live More needs your help with “Robert DeLeo: Pass Hands Free Driving Legislation in MA”. Join TextLess Live More and 1,112 supporters today.