Petitioning Liberal MPs

Open Letter to Liberal MPs Re: Electoral Reform


0 have signed. Let’s get to 100.

Carolyn Bennett, Scott Brison, Rodger Cuzner, Kirsty Duncan, Wayne Easter, Mark Eyking, Hedy Fry, David McGuinty, John McKay, Joyce Murray, Adam Vaughan

Dear Honourable Members of Parliament:

In 2014 you each supported a motion in the House of Commons stating that the next federal election should be the last one conducted under first-past-the-post. You were all subsequently re-elected under the Liberal Party’s unambiguous promise of reform. The Prime Minister has now reneged on that promise.

Recent political events have highlighted the need for an electoral system that accurately reflects the democratic will of the people. With the rise of extreme politics entering the mainstream, the need to safeguard our democracy from the perverse effects of first-past-the-post is more urgent than ever.

We therefore call on you to re-affirm your commitment to protecting and improving Canadian democracy by making your continued support for the Prime Minister’s leadership conditional on the fulfillment of his promise.

We look forward to receiving your support.

This petition will be delivered to:
  • Liberal MPs

    Thomas McConnell started this petition with a single signature, and now has 59 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.

    Today: Thomas is counting on you

    Thomas McConnell needs your help with “Open Letter to Liberal MPs Re: Electoral Reform”. Join Thomas and 58 supporters today.