Demand a Public Forum for City Council Position 8 Applicants

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!


In light of our city going through two mayoral transitions in less than a week, our city deserves a thorough and inclusive city council selection process.

Transparent Seattle’s main concern is the role the appointee will have on decisions concerning the city’s proposed budget this fall. 

The newly appointed Mayor of Seattle Tim Burgess will propose the Mayor's budget to City Council on Monday, September 25th. Budget decisions will impact funding of the North Seattle precinct future, development, education, affordable housing, transit, and policing. The public has had no access to the proposed budget and the person appointed to Council to replace Mayor Burgess must vote on this budget. 

Sign the petition and join Transparent Seattle in demanding

  • A properly publicized appointment process for the vacant City Council seat that allows time for individuals to apply, as a rushed process closes opportunity for community response
  • A Transparent Seattle public forum hosted by the City, so Seattleites have the chance to meet and ask questions of potential appointees
  • An open City Council meeting with a public comment period after the forum, so Seattleites can voice - on record - their thoughts and concerns for the appointees

If democracy is to guide our city, the people of this city MUST have their interests and voices represented in this process for selecting the politicians who shape our city. Seattle deserves to know the individuals applying for this appointment. Too much is on the line to rush the processes, especially when so many in our communities feel uncertain of our city’s future.

Contact your councilmembers and demand they hold a public forum!

District 1: Lisa Herbold
206-684-8803
lisa.herbold@seattle.gov


District 2: Bruce Harrell
206-684-8804
bruce.harrell@seattle.gov


District 3: Kshama Sawant
206-684-8016
kshama.sawant@seattle.gov


District 4: Rob Johnson
206-684-8808
rob.johnson@seattle.gov


District 5: Debora Juarez
206-684-8805
debora.juarez@seattle.gov


District 6: Mike O’Brien
206-684-8800
mike.obrien@seattle.gov


District 7: Sally Bagshaw
206-684-8801
sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov


Position 8: Tim Burgess
206-684-8806
tim.burgess@seattle.gov


Position 9: Lorena Gonzalez
206-684-8802
lorena.gonzalez@seattle.gov



Today: Transparent is counting on you

Transparent Seattle needs your help with “City of Seattle: Demand a Public Forum for City Council Applicants”. Join Transparent and 353 supporters today.