Topic

irish greyhound board

1 petition

Update posted 1 week ago

Petition to Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, Agriculture Minister Michael Creed TD, Andrew Doyle TD, Paschal Donohoe, Frances Fitzgerald, Dept of Finance

Irish Government: Stop Giving Millions of Euro to Cruel Greyhound Industry

Please sign our petition calling on the Irish Government to stop funding the cruel greyhound racing industry. The Irish Greyhound Board - which has control over track racing and hare coursing - received 16 million euro of hard-earned taxpayers' money in the latest budget (an increase of over a million euro compared to the previous year's figure), while other desperately needy sectors of Irish society saw cuts in grant aid. This despicable industry is responsible for the premature deaths of huge number of greyhounds, considered no longer fit to race on the track and those who don't make the grade. The average lifespan of a greyhound is 12-14 years, but Irish racing greyhounds can only expect to live 3-4 years. Also, many greyhounds are sent abroad to destinations that have little or no animal welfare protection legislation, where they are kept in appalling conditions and raced to death. It is also a corrupt industry with owners and trainers "openly admitting to doping" dogs as revealed on BBC and Channel 4 documentaries, while blooding (using hares, rabbits and small animals to keep the greyhounds keen) is an "open secret" in the industry. Given the ongoing fall in attendances at tracks, it is clear that the general public has little interest in greyhound racing. The Irish Government must stop wasting precious funds on this dying industry. An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar Government Buildings, Upper Merrion St, Dublin 2 Telephone: +353 (0)1 619 4020 Email: taoiseach@taoiseach.gov.ie, leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie Leave a comment on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/campaignforleo/Tweet to: @campaignforLeo Paschal DonohoeMinister for FinanceEmail: paschal.donohoe@oireachtas.ie, minister@per.gov.iePhone: +353 (0)1 6045810Leave a comment on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PaschalDonohoe/Tweet to @PaschaldMichael CreedMinister for Agriculturemichael.creed@oir.ie Andrew Doyle TDMinister of State, Dept of Agricultureandrew.doyle@oireachtas.ie

Irish Council Against Blood Sports ICABS
15,013 supporters