No by-election! Appoint Charline Grant for Trustee

0 have signed. Let’s get to 200!

On October 22nd, 2018, the city of Vaughan held a municipal election. Charline Grant was 1st runner up to the incumbent Trustee, Anna DeBartolo for Wards 1&2, receiving 2,161 votes while Anna received 4,437 votes. On January 9th, Anna DeBartolo resigned from her position amidst turmoil regarding personal reasons. 

Canada's electoral system is "first past the post" which means, in the event of an issue with the first to finish the race in a close proximity to the election results, we go to the runner up or to put it another way, the second past the post.

Common practice has been that the 1st runner up is appointed if there is a resignation, although with this incident, they have chosen not to. Since 1991, there have been 8 such incidents and 7 out of 8 have resulted in an appointment.

On January 10th, 2019 the York Region District School Board (YRDSB) decided that a by-election would be held to appoint a new trustee, costing the tax payers in Vaughan $177,000 instead of appointing Charline Grant.

Please sign this petition to show the YRDSB that the community supports Charline Grant and disapproves of the proceedings taken toward this incident.

The Vaughan Student Alliance believes that we need strong leadership within our communities, a Trustee with the right character, commitment to equality, and passion for community, students, and student achievements.