Petition Closed
Petitioning Director General IOC Mr. Christophe De Kepper and 10 others

We want a Corruption free Indian Olympic Association #CleanIOA


 We want a corruption free Indian Olympic Association.

 Indian Athletes presently are unable to compete for India under the tricolour in any multi discipline International competition. This is because Indian Olympic Association is suspended from the Olympic movement for poor ethical and governance standards.

As athletes we want more than anybody or anything else for India to be reinstated into the Olympic fold. We were delighted by the IOC recommendations and it was the first time that the Indian sport fraternity could opt for sweeping reforms. However, we are now deeply troubled by the outcomes after the last meeting.

We strongly believe that India’s reintroduction into the Olympic movement must be focused around substantial ethical and governance related reforms.

For better Governance of the IOA, we want the following :

1. Keep all  corrupt and criminals out of IOA- any individual who has charges framed against him/her in Court should not be eligible to run for any election until the time the individual is cleared by the courts.

2. There should be a maximum upper limit of 20 Executive Council members.

3. State Olympic Associations not to be given any voting rights.

4. Voting composition to be as recommended by the IOC: 2 Votes each for sports federations administering Olympic sports and 1 each for all other members.

5. Restriction of age to a maximum 70 years on ALL members of the IOA as stipulated in Rule 16.3.3 of the Olympic Charter and not limit it to only the President, Secretary and Treasurer.restriction on tenure must be in accordance with Rule 19.2, 19.3 & 20.1 of the IOC Olympic Charter which restricts tenure of all Executive Council Members to a max of 8 or 12 years as the case may be.

Co Petitioners:

Abhinav Bindra - Olympic , World , Asian and Commonwealth Champion

Mahesh Bhupathi - 5 time Olympian & winner of 12 Grand Slams

Shiva Keshavan - 4 time winter Olympian & Asian Champion

Sushil Kumar - Olympic Silver /Bronze, World , Asian & Commonwealth Champion 

Yogeshwar Dutt - Olympic & Asian games Bronze , Asian & Commonwealth Champion

Joydeep Karmakar - 2012 Olympic finalist 

Suma Shirur - 2004 Olympic finalist 

Manisha Malhotra - Asian Silver , IOC award contribution women sport & Mittal Champions Trust

Ashwini Nachappa - Olympian , Asian Silver

Reeth Abraham - Silver World Masters Athletics & Join Convener Clean Sports India 

Viren Rasquinha - Olympian , Asian & Junior World Champion , Olympic Gold Quest 

Morad Ali Khan - Commonwealth Champion & Chairman athletes commission for shooting

Rojan Sodhi - 2012 Olympian & Asian Games Champion 

Mansher Singh - 4 time Olympian 

Farokh Tarapore - 3 time Olympian , World & Asian Champion

Rahul Mehra- Sports Lawyer & an activist since 1999 . Successfully challenged various National Sports federations including the Indian Olympic Associaiton

This petition was delivered to:
  • Director General IOC
    Mr. Christophe De Kepper
  • President International Olympic Committee
    Dr. Thomas Bach
  • IOC Executive board
    Juan antonio Samaranch
  • IOC Executive board
    Gonilla Lindberg
  • IOC executive board
    Francisco Elizalde
  • IOC Member India
    Randhir Singh
  • Chairperson, Athletes Commission IOC
    Claudia Bokel
  • NOC relations
    Jerome Poivey
  • International Relations
    Pere Miro
  • President ANOC and OCA
    HH Sheikh Ahmad
  • Sports Minister India
    Jitender Singh

Ajay Rau started this petition with a single signature, and now has 42,664 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.

Today: Ajay is counting on you

Ajay Rau needs your help with “We want a Corruption free Indian Olympic Association #CleanIOA”. Join Ajay and 42,663 supporters today.