Stop the Town of Knightdale from merging with Eastern Wake Fire

Stop the Town of Knightdale from merging with Eastern Wake Fire

0 have signed. Let’s get to 100!
At 100 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!
Meg Brown started this petition to Sig Hutchinson and

We, the undersigned citizens located in the alert fire district, find that the merger of the Eastern Wake Fire Department with the Town of Knightdale is not in our best interest. We are satisfied with the services provided by the Eastern Wake Fire Department. As citizens of Wake County, we are strongly against any merger and any control of Alert Fire District by the Town of Knightdale. (There are about 175 signatures at this time done in person) 

NEXT MEETING:  Eastern Wake Fire Department Board Meeting Thursday, March 12 at 7pm at The Fire House 4828 Clifton Rd Knightdale. This is open to the public please come and consider speaking to the Board about stopping this merger. 

Background:

This is the third attempt of the Town of Knightdale to merge with the Eastern Wake Fire Department. This latest attempt started in November and notification was given to one public meeting (UPDATE: (2/10/2020) The public meeting discussing the potential merger is planned for this Thursday, February 13th, at 7:00 PM. It will be held at Bethlehem Baptist Church fellowship hall, 8400 Poole Road.) posted on The Town of Knightdale Website. The Board and The Town are currently in “a negotiation” phase. 

This a big decision that just can’t be undone once it is decided! All big decisions should be given lots of time, multiple meetings, lists of benefits and drawbacks, public input, professional opinion and consideration.
What is the rush? Why does The Town of Knightdale need this to happen so quickly? Who is this benefitting, us or them? 

Please contact our Wake County Commissions and the Eastern Wake Fire Department Board to voice your concern about this merger. 

Wake County Commissioners : Sig.Hutchinson@wakegov.com, matt.calabria@wakegov.com, jessica.holmes@wakegov.com, susan.evans@wakegov.com, james.west@wakegov.com, greg.ford@wakegov.com, vickie.adamson@wakegov.com

Sig Hutchinson 919-856-5575

Matt Calabria 919-856-5576

Jessica Holmes 919-856-5579

Susan Evans 919-856-5574

James West 919-856-5573

Greg Ford 919-856-5566

Vickie Adamson 919-856-5577

 

Eastern Wake Fire Board Members: 

shelton.price@easternwakefire.com, lori.dickens@easternwakefire.com, pat.estes@easternwakefire.com, tracey.bowen@easternwakefire.com, willie.rose@easternwakefire.com, eric.jackson@easternwakefire.com, joe.coley@easternwakefire.com, walt.martin@easternwakefire.com

Shelton Price President 919.625.1697

Lori Dickens VP 919.971.7386

Pat Estes Treasurer 919.753.6900

Tracey Bowen Secretary 919.578.0154

Willie Rose 919.810.6560

Eric Jackson 919.210.5059

Joe Coley 919.523.8411

Walter Martin 919.291.2119

Fire Study: https://media.cbs17.com/nxs-wncntv-media-us-east-1/document_dev/2019/04/08/Knightdale_Fire_Department_Report_042318_1554773391068_81301296_ver1.0.pdf

0 have signed. Let’s get to 100!
At 100 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!