Petition Closed

Support for supervised injection services in the City of Toronto

This petition had 3,171 supporters

TO: Toronto City Council

We have a growing overdose crisis in our City.

The number of individuals dying from drug overdoses in Toronto exceeded 200 in 2013, and is increasing.

Supervised injection services can respond positively to the health and social needs of people who use drugs and save lives; and can also improve public safety by reducing the number of discarded needles and injections occurring in laneways and washrooms.

Therefore we support the establishment of one or more supervised injection services in Toronto, being operated by experienced health professionals.

Add your name to urge Toronto City Council that it's time that we bring these life-saving services to Toronto - send a message that you support supervised injection services in our City.


Supporters of supervised injection services in Toronto

David Agnew - President, Seneca College

Rev. Andrew Asbil - Dean and Rector, St. James Cathedral

Max Beck - Former CEO, Easter Seals Canada

Paul Beeston - Former President, Major League Baseball and Former President, 

Toronto Blue Jays

John Kim Bell - Conductor, Founder of the Canadian Native Arts Foundation (Indspire) and the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards

Senator Larry Campbell - Senator, former Mayor of Vancouver

Joanne Campbell - Retired VP, Community Relations, Centre for Addiction and 

Mental Health (CAMH)

Walter Cavalieri - Director, Canadian Harm Reduction Network

Gloria Chaim - Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Dr. Anil Chopra - Chief of Emergency Medicine, University Health Network

Gordon Cressy - Past President, United Way of Greater Toronto

David Crombie - Former Mayor of Toronto

Marlys Edwardh - Lawyer

Senator Art Eggleton - Senator, former Mayor of Toronto

Rabbi Edward Elkin - First Narayever Congregation

Dr. Michal Evans - St. Michael’s Hospital

Dr. Paul Garfinkel - Professor of Psychiatry, University of Toronto and founding CEO, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Rev. Alexa Gilmour - Windermere United Church

Dr. Doris Grinspun - Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario (RNAO)

Barbara Hall - Former Chair, Ontario Human Rights Commission, former Mayor of Toronto

Richard and Nancy Hamm - Investment business

Dr. Paul Hannam - Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine, Michael Garron Hospital, Toronto East Health Network

Rev. Brent Hawkes - Senior Pastor, Metropolitan Community Church of Toronto

Rev. Maggie Helwig - Church of St. Stephen-in-the-Fields

Michael Hollett - President, NOW Magazine

Norman Inkster - Former Commissioner, RCMP and former President, Interpol

Alexis Jackson

Zeib Jeeva - Activist, Ismaili Muslim Community

Rev. Colin Johnson - Archbishop of Toronto, Anglican Church of Canada

Molly Johnson - Singer, Songwriter

Peter Leslie - Member, Toronto Drug Strategy Implementation Panel and Board Member, Queen West-Central Toronto Community Health Centre

Stephen Lewis - Chair, Stephen Lewis Foundation

Dennis Long - Executive Director, Breakaway Addiction Services

Bob Lunney - Former Chief of Police, Peel Region and Senior Officer, RCMP

Lorna Marsden - Former President, York University

Mary McConville - Former Executive Director, Catholic Children’s Aid Society, Toronto

Heather McGregor - CEO, YWCA Toronto

Roy McMurty - Former Attorney General and Chief Justice of Ontario

David Miller - Former Mayor of Toronto

Dr. Howard Ovens - Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine, Mount Sinai Hospital

Selwyn Pieters - Lawyer

Dr. Michael Rachlis

Bob Rae - Former Premier of Ontario

Kyle Rae - Former Toronto City Councillor, Chair of the Toronto Drug Strategy, 2003-2010

Ceta Ramkhalawansingh - Retired City of Toronto Equity and Diversity Manager and 

former Toronto City Councillor

Alan Redway - Former Mayor of East York

Jill Robinson - Chair, City of Toronto Stigma and Discrimination Working Group

John Sewell - Former Mayor of Toronto

Roslyn Shields - Senior Policy Analyst, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

Dr. Douglas Sinclair - Emergency Medicine, St. Michael’s Hospital

Greg Sorbara - Former Minister of Finance, Government of Ontario

Lorne Sossin - Dean, Osgoode Law School, York University

Ed Waitzer - Senior partner, Stikeman Elliott

Dr. Dan Werb - Director, International Centre for Science in Drug Policy and Research Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael’s Hospital

Rev. Lois Wilson - Former Moderator, United Church of Canada

Prof. Alan Young - Director, The Innocence Project, York University




Today: Lia is counting on you

Lia Brewer needs your help with “Toronto City Council: Support for supervised injection services in the City of Toronto”. Join Lia and 3,170 supporters today.