Safely reopen the Melbourne Photography Industry

0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!


On behalf of a vast number of Melbourne’s leading photographers, videographers, stylists, assistants, digital operators, retouchers, studios, models, agents, producers and our subsequent clients - we urge you to please reopen the commercial photography industry, as planned, on October 19th 2020.

Our entire industry has been unable to work since the Stage 4 business restrictions were enforced on Wednesday 5th August, 2020.

We complied and looked forward to the easing of restrictions that had been planned for September 14th, 2020. When that date was scrapped, it created yet more confusion and anxiety, as shoots were cancelled, rescheduled, and in many cases - sent interstate to be shot by teams in Sydney.

As it stands, our calendars are currently full of bookings for jobs from October 19th onwards, which are eagerly anticipated by not just the Photographers and clients, but teams of people. Tax paying businesses and sole traders.

Based on comments by the Premier in recent days, that date is in doubt now too.

It has been 10 weeks that our industry has been unable to work, but our incomes have been severely compromised for a lot longer than that.

Many of us have recently not qualified for JobKeeper, and also not been deemed as eligible for the grants and financial support on offer, due to technicalities in the guidelines.

We feel that we are not being considered at all in the reopening of business in Metropolitan Melbourne.

With CovidSafe protocols in place, thousands of us could return to work in a safe and measured manner – we need to be permitted to do so.

Many of the individuals signing this letter have decades of experience in this industry. We are all in agreement that safety measures need to be taken, however the blanket shut down of our industry as a whole has gone on for long enough.

The 250 photographers and associated industry professionals listed below volunteered their names to be added to this letter within 20 hours of my social media call out. And more and more people are still requesting to be added. The number of impacted businesses here represents a significant part of the local economy.  

Please allow us to return to work next week. Safely.

Abigail Varney (www.abigailvarney.com
Ajith Abraham Aciek (Brazen Models)
Alberto Zimmerman (Photographer)
Aleira Moon (www.aleiramoon.com
Aleksandar Kostadinoski (www.aleksandarjason.com
Alexandra Drewniak (www.ladydrewniak.com
Alice Brew (www.alicebrew.com
Alysha Jenkins (www.alyshajenkinsceramics.com
Amber Clarke (Brazen Models)
Amelia Dowd (www.ameliajdowd.com
Andrew Farquhar (www.fredphnd.com
Annette O’Brien (www.annetteobrien.com.au
Annika Kafcaloudis (www.annikakafcaloudis.com/Work
Anniss + Barton (www.annissbarton.com.au
Anthony Tosello (www.anthonytosello.com
Arielle Thomas (www.cinemathom.com
Ashlee Pritchard (Retoucher)
Ash Koek (www.ashkoek.com
Ashley Morales (www.ashleymorales.com
Bea Lambos (www.beaandco.com.au
Beck Simon (www.becksimon.com
Beckie Littler (www.beckielittler.com
Ben Hosking (www.benhosking.com.au
Bree Leech (www.breeleech.com
Bri Hammond (www.brihammond.com
Bridget Wald (www.bridgetwald.com
Bronte Keating (Model)
Brooklyn Edwards (Brazen Models)
Caitlin Mills (www.caitlinmillsphotography.com.au
Caitlyn Frecklington (www.caitlynfrecklingtonphotography.com
Cameron Murray (www.cameronmurray.com.au
Carmel Gohar (www.carmelgohar.com
Carmen Zammit (www.carmenzammit.com
Caroline Griffiths (Cookbook Recipe Developer)
Cassie Smith (www.cassiesmith.com.au
Chantelle Elise (www.chantelle-elise.com
Charlie Ashfield (www.igotshotbycharlie.com
Chris Murray (www.chrismurray.photography
Clare Martin Lapworth (www.claremartinlapworth.com.au
Clare Richardson (www.clare-richardson.com
Clint Peloso (www.clintpeloso.com
Coco Productions (www.cocoproductions.com.au
CoParadiso (www.coparadiso.com
Cory White (www.corywhite.com
Cristina Guerrero Fernandez (www.cristina-guerrero.com
Daniel Hassett (www.danielhassett.com
Daniel Herrmann-Zoll (www.dhzphoto.com
Daniel Schache (www.danshaq.com
Daniela Velickovic (www.danielavelickovic.com
Danny Smith (www.lampoluce.com.au
David Leyshon (SUNSTUDIOS)
Deborah Kaloper (www.deborahkaloper.com
Derek Swalwell (www.derekswalwell.com
Dian J Norton (www.dianjnorton.com
Eden Row (www.eden-row.com
Elaine Marshall (www.elainemarshall.com.au
Elisa Watson (www.elisaw.com
Eliza Harrison (www.elizaharrisonphotography.com.au
Eloise Hannah (Brazen Models)
Emily Bartlett (www.emilybartlettphotography.com
Emily Macfarlane (Model)
Emily Walkemeyer (Interior Designer)
Emily Weaving (www.emilyweaving.com
Emma Christian (Cookbook Recipe Developer)
Emma Perry (www.emmaperry.com.au
Emma Warren (Cookbook/Food Home Economist)
Francesca Laude (www.francescalaude.com.au
Frankie Evans (Brazen Models)
Fuego Chego (www.photobychege.myportfolio.com
Gabrielle Beswick & Andrew Beveridge (www.fomudesign.com
Gale Street Studios (www.galestreetstudios.com
Geena Glass (www.geenaglass.com
Gemma Carr (www.gemmacarr.com.au
Gena Ferguson (www.genaferguson.com.au
Georgia Duncan (www.georgiaduncan.com
Georgia Gold (www.georgiagold.co.uk
Glenn Hester (www.glennhester.com.au
Good Gravy Media (www.goodgravy.media
Greg Elms (www.gregelms.com
Griffin Simm (www.griffinsimmphoto.com.au
Hannah Caldwell (www.hannahcaldwellphotography.com
Hannah Guyer (Photographer/Art Director)
Hannah Nowlan (www.hannahnowlan.com.au
Haydn Cattach (www.haydncattach.com
Hayden Dib (www.haydendib.com
Hayden Golder (www.haydengolder.com
Hayley McKee (www.stickyfingersbakery.com.au
Heather Nette King (www.heathernetteking.com.au
Henry King (www.henrykingcreative.com
Hugh Davies (www.hughdaviesphotography.com
Isabella Connelley (www.isabellaconnelley.com
Ivan Lee (www.ijproductions.com
Jacinta Moore (www.jacintamoore.com
Jade Cantwell (www.jadecantwell.com
Jake Stollery (www.jakestollery.com
James Miles (Producer)
James Morgan (www.jamesmorgan.com.au
James Thomas Limanis (Brazen Models)
Jana Langhorst (www.janalanghorst.com
Jana Woodhouse (www.janawoodhouse.com
Jason Lau (www.jasonlauphotography.com
Jenah Piwanski (www.jenahpiwanski.com
Jess Bicknell (www.jessbicknell.com
Jess Brohier (www.jessbrohier.com
Jess Kneebone (www.jesskneebone.com
Jess White (www.cassette.com.au
Jesse Marlow (www.jessemarlow.com
Jesse O’Brien (www.jesseobrien.com.au
Jessica Apap (www.jessicaapap.com
Jessica Lillico (www.jessicalillico.com
Jessica Tomasino
Jessie Webb (www.cargocollective.com/thevelvetinsides
Jo Duck (www.joduck.com/
Jodie Hutchinson (www.jodiehutchinsonphotography.com
John Laurie (www.johnlauriephoto.com
Josh Robenstone (www.joshrobenstone.com
Julie Haines (www.willowcreative.com.au
Julie Provis (www.hartandco.com.au/artists/julie-provis
Karla Majnaric (www.karlamajnaric.com
Kate Gaskin (www.kategaskin.com
Kate McWilliam (www.katemcwilliam.com
Kate Pascoe (www.katepascoestudio.com.au
Katrina Cleary (Cookbook Recipe Developer)
Katrina Douglas (Producer)
Kelli Morris (www.kellimorrisphotography.com
Kim Landy (www.whatmattersstudio.com
Kirstie Gadsden (Producer)
Kloe Lee-Smith (www.kloleestudios.com
Lampoluce (Photography Studio)
Laura Manariti (www.lauramanariti.com.au
Laura Vaquero (www.lauravaquero.com
Lauren Bamford (www.laurenbamford.com
Lauren De Innocentis (www.laurendeinnocentis.com
Lauren Hart McKinnon (Fashion Designer)
Lauren Lopatko (www.neuralle.com
Lecinda Ward (www.lecindaward.com.au
Lee Blaylock (www.leeblaylock.com.au
Lilah Benetti (www.lilahbenetti.com
Lilli Waters (www.lilliwatersphoto.com
Lillie Thompson (www.lilliethompson.com
Linda Oliveri (www.lindaoliveri.com
Lisa Cohen (www.lisacohenphotography.com
Lucas Allen (www.lucasallen.com
Lynton Tapp (www.lyntontapp.com
Maddy McKee (www.maddymckee.com
Madeleine Griffith (www.madeleinegriffith.com
Marc Lyons (Art Director)
Marcel Aucar (www.marcelaucar.com.au
Marcie Raw (www.marcie-raw.format.com
Marie-Luise Skibbe (www.marieluise.co
Marija Ivkovic (www.marijaivkovic.com
Mark Munro (www.markmunro.com
Marsha Golemac (www.marshagolemac.com
Martina Gemmola (www.gemmola.com
Meagan Harding (www.meaganhardingphotography.com
Meg Guthrie (www.megguthrie.com.au
Melanie Ryan (www.melanieryan.net
Meryl Batlle (www.merylbatlle.com
Mette Kortelainen (Photographer)
Michaela Barca (www.michaela-barca.com
Michelle Mackintosh (Book Designer/Author)
Michelle Tran (www.michelletran.net
Mike Baker (www.mikebaker.com.au
Mitchell Lawless (Brazen Models)
Naomi Crisante (www.naomicrisante.com.au
Natalie James (www.nataliejames.com.au
Natalie Jurrjens (www.nataliejurrjens.com
Natalie Turnbull (www.natalieturnbull.com.au
Nathan K Davis (www.nathankdavis.com
Nelly Skoufatoglou (www.nellyskoufatoglou.com
Nicholas Wilkins (www.nicholasjohnwilkins.com
Nick Blair (www.nickblair.com
Nicole England (www.nicoleengland.com
Odd Socks Society (www.oddsockssociety.com
Off The Kerb Gallery (www.offthekerb.com.au
Oliver Freeman (www.oliverfreemanphoto.com
Our Country Tale (www.acountrytalephotography.com
Pablo Diaz (Photographer)
Paige Anderson (www.paigeanderson.com.au
Paige Montana (Brazen Models)
Parker Blain (www.parkerblain.com
Patricia Sofra (www.patriciasofra.com
Paul Philipson (www.paulphilipson.com
Peta Gray (www.petagray.com.au
Pete Dillon (www.petedillon.com.au
Peter Tarasiuk (www.petertarasiuk.com
Phillip Huynh (www.afloralfrenzy.com
Phoebe Powell (www.phoebepowellphotography.com
Pier Carthew (www.piercarthew.com
Poppy Garbin and Scott Gibson (www.popandscott.com
Quoc Truong (www.quotruo.com
Rachael Horan (www.studiorohm.com
Rachel Castle (www.castleandthings.com.au
Rachel Polivka (www.crowandsparrow.com.au
Ragdoll Marketing (www.raggdollevents.com
Rebecca Newman (www.rebeccanewman.com.au
Rebecca Vitartas (www.rebeccavitartas.com
Renee Coster (www.reneecoster.com
Renee Le Hunt (www.silhouettemodels.com.au
Rhi Taylor (www.rhiannontaylor.com
Rob Povey (www.people.agency/creative/rob
Robyn Morrison (www.bobbyclark.com.au
Rosey Karaula (Producer)
Ross Campbell (www.rosscampbells.com
Sally Gordon, Milieu Property (www.milieuproperty.com.au
Sam Wong (www.samwong.com.au
Samantha McLaren (Adore Beauty)
Samee Lapham (www.sameelapham.com/
Sammy Green (www.sammygreenphotography.com
Samuel David Guy (www.bowerpix.com
Sarah Jobson (www.makingpretty.com.au
Sarah Mackie (www.sarakmackie.com
Sarah Pannell (www.sarahpannell.com
Sarah Tee (www.Sarah-tee.com
Sarah Watson (Freelance Chef / Food Production)
Scott Newett (www.cubedstudio.com.au
Sean Fennessy (www.seanfennessy.com.au
Serena Galante (www.sgalante.com
Shannyn Higgins (www.shannynhiggins.com
Shanthi Murugan (Adore Beauty)
Sharyn Cairns (www.sharyncairns.com.au
Shella Ruby Martin (www.shellamartin.com
Shelley Horan (www.shelleyhoran.com
Simon Browne (www.fujimotosimon.com.au
Sophia Pafitis (www.sophiapafitis.com
Sophie Reynolds (www.makeupbysophieknox.com
Sophie Riva (Brazen Models)
Sophie Timothy (www.sisterscout.studio
Steffen Pedersen (www.littlevikingproductions.com
Stephanie Cammarano (www..stephaniecammarano.com
Stephanie Rose Wood (www.stephanierosewood.com
Stephanie Stamatis (www.stephaniesomebody.com
Studio Ongarato (www.studioongarato.com.au
Susan Grdunac (www.grdunac.com.au
Suzi Appel (www.suziappel.com.au
Tania Bahr-Vollrath (www.tbahrv.com
Thomas Suleiman Tumaini (www.suleimanthomas.kavyar.site
Tiarna Robertson (www.tiarnarobertson.com
Tim Harris (www.timyeahtim.com
Tim Hillier (www.timothyhillier.com
Tim O’Connor (www.timoconnorphotography.com
Tina Smigielski (www.tinasmigielski.com
Tory Price (www.iamthetreasurehunter.com
Trudi treble ( www.truditreble.com
Vicky Withers (Fashion Designer)
Vladimir Petrovic (www.vladimirphotography.com.au
Wilk (www.cargocollective.com/wilk
William Watt (www.williamwatt.com.au
XO Studios (www.xostudios.com.au
Zenn Design (www.zenndesign.com.au