Review all Genres of Music

Reasons for signing

See why other supporters are signing, why this petition is important to them, and share your reason for signing (this will mean a lot to the starter of the petition).

Thanks for adding your voice.

Christian Jacob
7 years ago
another reason why people don't rely on newspapers anymore...

Thanks for adding your voice.

Fiona Terris
7 years ago
My grandfather was a music reviewer for The Scotsman many decades ago. Musical appreciation should not be limited to what is en vogue but should encompass all genres.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Martin MacGregor
7 years ago
A Scottish paper claiming national status ought to cover the full musical spectrum

Thanks for adding your voice.

Ian McLaren
7 years ago
I have been a regular reader of the Scotsman and it's sister paper Scotland on Sunday for many, many years, partly because of the arts coverage. The paper's quality continues to deteriorate and this, I fear is the final straw. Another customer lost unless............

Thanks for adding your voice.

KEN MCKINLAY
7 years ago
Because it limits knowledge of and access to rich musical landscape & just adds more beige.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Iain Fraser
7 years ago
I thought we were trying to improve our understanding of all issues, esp culture not go back

Thanks for adding your voice.

Ian Ellis
7 years ago
Jazz is a much misunderstood, poorly covered art form in all media. Scotland has the premier jazz orchestra in the world today, to ignore this musical medium is tantamount to censorship. Perhaps a free Scottish Press isn't bothered about such things.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Iain Macfadyen
7 years ago
Becuse you a buch of Fanny's

Thanks for adding your voice.

Brian Johnstone
7 years ago
I'm a lifelong Jazz and world music lover (especially as I'm a Flamenco and Jazz guitarist) from Hawick now living in Oregon, USA and have produced and presented radio programs on both in Oregon.
I've also lived, played, jammed and listened in amazement with and to music all over the world and consider the connectedness of the many and diverse music of all nations to be sacred -as it is in everyday life of many indigenous peoples in the US and worldwide.
Please contine to publish and review both Jazz and World Music in "The Scotsman" as a measure to maintain our links to other peoples and knowledge of how their music and ways of communicating rather than just entertaining are vital to their identities and survival as they are our own people, who have their own rich vein of cultural expression.
In the spirit of Rabbie Burns and Crazy Horse:
"That man-tae-man the warld o'er, shall brithers be and a' that".
And
"MetakuyeOyasin" (All my relations -or all things are related) Lakota.

Thanks for adding your voice.

DanielD Anderson
7 years ago
So many talented musicians are little known and appreciated