The American Bar Association (ABA): Stop copyrighting ethics opinions & keeping them behind a paywall.

Reasons for signing

See why other supporters are signing, why this petition is important to them, and share your reason for signing (this will mean a lot to the starter of the petition).

Thanks for adding your voice.

N A
9 years ago
While not actually law, these ethics opinions shape and mold the law of practicing law. Access to these opinions can only serve the profession. I 100% echo the comments made by the petitioner.

Thanks for adding your voice.

D. Paul Dalton
9 years ago
I cannot conceive of any rational justification for imposing a fee for accessing (or for making it difficult to access) ethical opinions that are intended -- and used -- to define and explain the ethical standards to which attorneys are expected to hold themselves. There are good and understandable reasons for charging fees for accessing resources such as CLE programs and other member services of the ABA. However, these ethical opinions are intended to set standards applicable to all attorneys and, for that reason, should be made freely available to all attorneys, as well as the public.

If anyone is aware of a good reason why it is in the best interest of the profession and the public to charge fees for accessing ABA ethical opinions, I would like to hear it.

Thanks for adding your voice.

William Peacock
9 years ago
A man can't abide by standards and laws that he has no knowledge of. The purpose of the ABA is to advance the practice of the profession, especially regarding ethics. Fulfill your mission.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Rick Sanders
9 years ago
The policy seems self-defeating to me. There are better ways to fund the good work of the ABA's ethics panels.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Nicole Hyland
9 years ago
Bar Associations should be freely promoting and disseminating any information that assists lawyers in understanding and complying with their ethical obligations. Period.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Thomas Deaton
9 years ago
It's wrong for a public benefit organization to charge for what are, for all practical purposes, public records, since courts rely on ethics opinions in disciplining lawyers.

Thanks for adding your voice.

John Mitchell
9 years ago
I think it is highly unethical to lock out access to ethics opinions. What is the point? It's not as though the ethics opinions stand a chance of ever being on the NYT bestseller list. This bassackwards policy is an example of why I finally decided to drop out of the ABA. No sense of justice there?

Thanks for adding your voice.

Brian Cole
9 years ago
I think all lawyers should have access to the Ethics Opinions.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Warren Allen
9 years ago
The ABA should be making these opinions public so not just lawyers but the public can understand what standards apply to a profession that aspires to serve the public good.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Brandon Beaudette
9 years ago
The ABAs ethics opinions should be consumed by lawyers and clients, not locked behind a pay wall and DEFINITELY should not be the focus of take down requests.