Pass The Texas Crown Act Into Law

0 have signed. Let’s get to 1,000!

On February 6, 2020 Texas elected officials Representatives Ron Reynolds, D-Missouri City; Shawn Thierry, D-Houston; Rhetta Bowers, D-Garland; and Carl Sherman, D-DeSoto, along with State Board of Education member Aicha Davis announced that they will be introducing the Crown Act legislation in the 2021 Texas Legislative Session. The Texas Crown Act, which stands for Create a Respectful and Open World for Natural Hair, will ban discrimination based on hair textures and styles commonly associated with race.

This legislation has become increasingly necessary as more and more stories of discrimination against students in Texas schools for wearing their natural hair have been reported in the news. Most recently, DeAndre Arnold, a black Mont Belvieu student was suspended last month because of his dreadlocks. The school told him he couldn’t walk at his high school graduation unless he cut them. Late in 2019, four-year-old Michael Trimble was forced out of a Head Start program in the Tatum Independent School District for wearing his natural hair.

To date California, New York and New Jersey have all implemented the Crown Act. California was the first state to adopt the Crown Act with State Senator Holly Mitchell's Senate Bill 188 was signed into law by California Governor Gavin Newsom in July of 2019. Since that time both New York and New Jersey have also had legislation passed and signed into law implementing their versions of the Crown Act.

The Crown Act is a national campaign led by the Crown Coalition. The Crown Coalition is made up of founding members Dove, National Urban League, Color of Change and the Western Center on Law and Poverty. As shared on their website, currently "Twenty-two (22) additional states are considering the CROWN Act and have either pre-filed, filed or formally stated an intent to introduce their own anti-hair discrimination bills, including Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin."

Please join us in signing this petition calling on the Governor and Members of the Texas State Legislature to pass and sign into law the Crown Act during the 2021 Legislative Session.