Petition Closed

Take down the Confederate (Rebel) Flags in AL, AR, FL, & MS

The Georgia and South Carolina legislature replaced their divisive Confederate flag state symbols. However, the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, and Mississippi still maintain derivatives of the Confederate flag as their state flag symbols which represent domestic terrorism.

*The Rebel flag was waved in the air by white supremists while African Americans were terrorized between Reconstruction (1865-1874) and the Civil Rights Era (1955-1966).

*The Confederacy attempted to establish a separate country which could preserve the institution of slavery during the American Civil War 1861-1865.

*The Confederate States lost the Civil War.

The Mississippi State Flag includes the Confederate Flag; it has 13 stars which represents 13 former slave holding states namely: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Eleven of these states seceded from the Union from 1860-1861 and formed the Confederacy. The states of Missouri and Kentucky did not have enough votes to formerly secede from the Union, but their residents supported the Confederate cause during the Civil War.

Call your AL, AR, FL, and MS legislatures and tell them to repeal laws that allow derivatives of the Confederate flag to be waved in the air. End the imagery of the Civil War.

Sponsored by Citizens Against the Rebel Flag Hanging in Public Places

This petition was delivered to:
  • Citizens Against the Rebel Flag Hanging in Public Places
    AL, AR, FL, & MS State Legislature

    Meredith McGee started this petition with a single signature, and now has 86 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.