CALL TO ACTION FOR RACIAL EQUITY

CALL TO ACTION FOR RACIAL EQUITY

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!
At 500 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!
OCEANNA FAIR started this petition to Mayor of the City of Syracuse Mayor Ben Walsh and

For decades, as many city residents know, Syracuse’s poorest families have struggled with some of the highest childhood lead poisoning rates in the nation. Over 600 of our children are lead poisoned yearly, 90% in low-income city census tracts – that is the equivalent of an entire elementary school’s worth of our children newly lead poisoned each year.

Now, fifteen years after our neighbors in Rochester passed a highly successful lead ordinance, Syracuse Common Council is going to vote on a Syracuse Lead Ordinance. The right thing to do is for Syracuse Common Councilors to approve the ordinance and protect our children.

But will they? Families for Lead Freedom Now! is urging everyone who understands the long-term devastating effects of lead poisoning on families and our community (e.g., learning difficulties, uncontained aggression, decision-making impairment, and more) to contact your Councilors and ask them to vote “Yes” on the Syracuse Lead Ordinance on July 13, 2020.

We urge the Mayor Ben Walsh to do the right thing and make every effort possible at full enforcement of the ordinance.

Please find contact information below for the Mayor and Syracuse Common Council members. 

Thank you!

Mayor Ben Walsh : 315-448-8466 mayor@syrgov.net

Helen Hudson: 315-448-8466 hhudson@syrgov.net

Khalid Bey: 315-448-8466 kbey@syrgov.net

Michael Green: 315-448-8466 mgreen@syrgov.net

Timothy Rudd: 315-448-8466 trudd@syrgov.net

Rita Paniagua: 315-448-8466 rpaniagua@syrgov.net 

Joseph Carni: 315-448-8466 JCarni@syrgov.net

Patrick Hogan: 315-448-8466 phogan@syrgov.net  

Chol Majok: 315-448-8466 cmajok@syrgov.net

Latoya Allen:315-448-8466 LAllen@SyrGov.net  

Joe Driscoll: 315-448-8466 jdriscoll@syrgov.net

 

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!
At 500 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!