Calling for Sunderland council to launch a review into the Sir Henry Havelock statue

Reasons for signing

See why other supporters are signing, why this petition is important to them, and share your reason for signing (this will mean a lot to the starter of the petition).

Thanks for adding your voice.

Louis Smith-Howes
1 year ago
Henry Havelock was an awful person and we shouldn't have statues of these types of historical figures in public spaces. A full review is required to make a good decision on whether or not to remove Havelocks statue

Thanks for adding your voice.

Mark Tyers
1 year ago
We shouldn't have a statue celebrating a man who played a key role in maintaining Britain's brutal control and exploitation of India. India fought for independence because British colonialism was brutal and deeply injust.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Rebecca Bennelli
1 year ago
I dont want to have a statue of a racist in a park i take my children to

Thanks for adding your voice.

Frank Pitt
1 year ago
It is shameful to have a public remembrance of a war crime by this person. History cannot be changed but attitudes and perceptions are changed. So let's clean up these aberrations

Thanks for adding your voice.

Chileshé Stobbs
1 year ago
A lot of people speak of preserving our country’s history... nobody wishes for these people to be forgotten about. This petition is so they aren’t celebrated. Something people are forgetting is that a statues purpose isn’t really to teach, that is what schools and museums are for. They are put in public spaces to honour and commemorate the person and things they did in their lives. Racist murderers have no place being celebrated and honoured.

Thanks for adding your voice.

jane ann dickinson
1 year ago
This is our history!!! Totally getting out of hand now!! When in Rome, do as the Romans do, isn't that what they say? 樂路‍♀️

Thanks for adding your voice.

Julia Valentine
1 year ago
All of our racist statues should be taken down and kept in museums to remember our brutal colonial past. Those heartless men should not be revered as heroes in our streets

Thanks for adding your voice.

Grace Copeland
1 year ago
Acknowledging and learning from history, good and bad, is of course important. But statues are a form of reverence and a sign of great respect, and this is not the attitude we should be showing towards historical figures who were instrumental in acts as abhorrent as those which Sir Havelock facilitated. These statues belong in museums where the clear focus is the preservation of history from which we can LEARN, and learn that racism in any form is in no way acceptable - not in public outdoor spaces which they have no right to occupy.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Ray Bramwell
1 year ago
I believe standing up to save my countrys heritage..history.

Thanks for adding your voice.

shona chornenki
1 year ago
Because we do not honour racist