Change the NC 50C No Contact Order Violations to a Misdemeanor
0 have signed. Let’s get to 200!
Currently, under North Carolina law, those who are not domestically related(child-spouse, roommate, boyfriend girlfriend etc) must file a 50C No Contact order for a variety of offenses ranging in severity to harassment, stalking or sexual assault. These No Contact Order(Commonly called Restaining Orders) do not carry the same weight and penalty for violations of domestic violence orders. While a violation of a Domestic Violence Order can be punished up to 120 Days in Jail, the maximum punishment is 30 days for contempt for a violation of the 50C. While contempt is a crime in North Carolina, the violation carries significantly less time than similar offenses.
In addition, if a 50C is violated, the remedy for the holding party is through a motion or request to a judge. This is a complicated process that requires paperwork oral arguments and likely the expense of an attorney.
In these complicated and dangerous situations, there needs to be a less complicated remedy with a higher punishment. On my client's behalf, I am reaching out to officials in the Senate and House of Representatives in North Carolina. We are requesting they take action to make the changes necessary to increase the punishment to a misdemeanor offense with a higher penalty than the current 30 days for contempt of court.
Today: George E Gibbs Jr Attorney at Law is counting on you
George E Gibbs Jr Attorney at Law needs your help with “State legislature of North Carolina General Assembly and/or Senate: Change the NC 50C No Contact Order Violations to a Misdemanor”. Join George E Gibbs Jr Attorney at Law and 107 supporters today.